Sanctuary of the Mission

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission Step 1

I apologize for being negligent in posting lately. It’s tax time and I’m working on getting everything ready for our CPA. But here I am and we’re heading to the west coast today for this week’s eBay EMBRYO!

To go directly to the eBay auction CLICK HERE.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission Step 2

If you are ever in California a fun excursion is to follow the trail of the 21 Spanish Missions, it was one of the first trips Jack took me on. The architecture and flowers are beautiful. Mission San Juan Bautista is among my favorites, I love this door tucked away in the courtyard. The rough stucco walls and brick surrounding the door are painted first.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission Step 3

I’m using a new color for the Robin’s Egg Blue door. Mixture #1 is Pthalo Turquoise Blue + White. #2. Mix #1 + more White.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission Step 4

The shadow portion of the door is painted first with mix #1. Then I come back with mixture #2 to block in the sunshiny part.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission Step 5

The Pink Bougainvillea draping down is painted with mixes in various proportions of Permanent Rose + White. Moving to the California Poppies lining the walk I block in the flowers with Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Red Light, pure Cadmium Orange and Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium. Following my basic sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last the foliage is now worked around the blossoms.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission 6x6Sanctuary of the Mission     10″ x 10″     Original Oil Painting EMBRYO

Red Penstemon fill out the other side of the walkway and we’re done! Sanctuary of the Mission would retail in our galleries for $490 but to make it more fun we are starting the bidding on the auction at 1 cent. That’s right, ONLY A PENNY! But you’ll need to act quickly, the auction ends Sunday, March 9 at 8 PM Central Time! To go directly to the eBay auction CLICK HERE.

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission 6x6 closeup

Rhett and Scarlett decided to join us, zipping around, happy and secure in the Sanctuary of the Mission. As Jack said with a chuckle, “They are Hummingbirds on a mission!”

SC2214 Sanctuary at the Mission 6x6 with tape

Sanctuary of the Mission measures 10″ x 10″. This is larger than I normally paint for eBay. And don’t worry about framing these cut little Hummingbirds, they are painted on a panel with 1 1/2″ finished sides. You can take it out of the box and hang it directly on your wall. We even provide the hanger and nail!

Don’t linger, the auction ends Sunday, March 9 at 8 PM Texas (Central) Time.

To go directly to the eBay auction CLICK HERE.

HAPPY BIDDING and HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “Sanctuary of the Mission”

  1. Ross and Diane Hutchinson Says:

    Dear Mikki, I hope you get this and will reply. I have followed your work and think you are the greatest, I have even started oil painting because you have been an inspiration to me. I have been painting and teaching watercolors for years. To get to the question, I see that you paint fairly thick and use a lot of white, how do you get your paintings to dry? Mine take weeks and then I understand that to varnish the finished painting you need to wait 6 months to a year!!! I can’t wait that long! What do you do about drying time and varnishing? It seems that the paintings you put on E Bay were done recently. Is that the case or were they done a while ago, allowed to dry, and then you put the info about them in the emails at the time you list the painting? Thanks for your reply, and help. Sincerely, Diane Hutchinson

    Diane’s I Phone Hutchinsoncreations.com 561-848-3987

    >

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Diane,
      Thank you for your great questions and wonderful compliments, I’m floating! If I want my oil paint to dry a little quicker I mix a bit of LIQUIN into it. It doesn’t require much, I just dip the tip of my painting knife into the LIQUIN and then mix that amount into the paint on my palette. Make certain to mix it completely into the glob of color. If I need them to dry more quickly I use ALKYD OIL PAINT. They work just like regular oils but dry in a day or two. My eBay pieces are done mostly with regular oils with the exception of the white. For that I use ALKYD OIL PAINT. It intermixes just fine with the regular oils and makes any it is mixed with dry faster. As soon as the painting is complete I list it on eBay! It will be dry by the time the auction is over.

      To varnish our paintings we use GRUMBACHER SPRAY RETOUCH VARNISH. It is made to spray directly on wet oil paintings, giving them a protective coating that is safe and will not crack. Hope this helps. I appreciate you following my blog, Mikki

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,158 other followers

