A Babbling Brook

Moving to the babbling hill country stream, I first mix my colors for the limestone rocks lining the creek. The dabs of paint on the left of my palette are colors I’ve already used. It’s good to keep them so I can go back and make touch ups if I need to. Various proportions of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White are used for the boulders. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) is added for the darker shadows. If you would like to learn more about how to mix the vibrant colors I use with our Double Primary Mixing System just CLICK HERE.

The limestone boulders are blocked in with a large bright brush. One of our readers asked about the canvas I’m painting on. All of my paintings are done on a gallery wrap, or contempo, canvas. The blue painter’s tape protects our White Senkarik Signature frame and will be pulled off when the piece is finished.

The rocks of the stream bed are also blocked in. I pull the running water over the rock color, allowing it to show through. To see any of these pictures larger you can click on the image.

The merrily tumbling water of the stream is finished and I direct my attention the foreground pool. A mix of Pthalo Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange + White is used here. The touch of yellow in the creamy limestone underneath makes the water appear more aqua.

Even though the piece is not finished you can begin to see the “Threshold” effect. In designing a painting I want the front to be in shadow. Think of standing outside your home on a warm summer night. When the door opens your eye is drawn, across the threshold of the doorway, to the brightly lit interior. The same works in a painting. By making the foreground dark it acts as a “Threshold”, your gaze is pulled over the shadow to the light in the distance. Have a wonderful day and hope you will come visit our studio again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

To receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy.

2 Responses to “A Babbling Brook”

  1. Joseph Murray Says:

    Hi Mikki !
    This one is going to be a wonderful painting–they all are–but this one seems to be special . Of course I am biased–as I like these kinds of scenes in good old Americana ! Enjoy Today !

    Joseph Murray
    Wayuga Art Studio
    Jefferson, Iowa

  2. Dale Bernard Says:

    You’re a Gift. Thank you amazing artist :o}

Leave a Reply

