A Matching Set

Seems I’ve been on a Sunflower kick lately, today I’m working on some you can WEAR! A matching cap and tee-shirt for my eBay auction. First let’s paint the cap. To begin with alkyd oil paints are used to draw in the centers of the flowers along with light outlines of the foliage. You can click on the picture to see this enlarged. Then the sunny yellow petals are painted. After the broad leaves are finished I sign the cap along the brim.

AND…. the cap is  ready to wear. Or, it will be when the auction is over, the alkyd oil paints will be dry by then.

To go to the eBay auction for the Sunflower Cap titled Cheerful Pair CLICK HERE.

On to the Tee-Shirt. To start a sketch is made of the sunflower design.

Then a blank canvas is inserted inside the Tee and the edges are wrapped with shrink-wrap for ease of handling. I can touch the sides and don’t have to worry about messing up the white. I follow the same procedure used on the cap. The centers are indicated and a soft outline of the stems and foliage is made. Starting to work on the flowers I realized I really needed to paint the leaves first. Some of the yellow blossoms will overlap the foliage underneath.

While painting the foliage I decided to add more leaves at the bottom of the design to balance out the flowers.

The finished Tee is on the left. All of my Wearable Art products include an Official Certificate with our Code of Authenticity. Just like my large oil paintings every garment is completely original so each one has its own individual title.

CLICK HERE to go to the auction for the Tee-Shirt, Dance in the Sun.

Bidding begins at a penny! The auctions end at 6 and 6:05 PM Pacific Time on Sunday April 29. Bid on both and wear the pair! HAVE FUN. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

One Response to “A Matching Set”

  1. Bobbi Baltzer-Jacobo Says:

    Very, very nice, Mikki! I am curious about several things, though. Doesn’t an Oil based paint ( I work in Acrylics so I am no longer very aware of what can be done with Oils )leave an Oil shadow or Oil bleed around the edges of the objects? And, as I remember from when I worked with Oil, long ago, doesn’t Oil need something between it and the fabric to protect the fabric from rot from the Oil based paint? I especially like the Sunflowers on the Shirt! Best wishes for happy sales with it!–Bobbi Baltzer-Jacobo

Leave a Reply

