Sketching the World Around Us

So many of you commented on my Kentucky Derby sketches I thought I would expand a little on the subject. Drawing is the basis of all representational art. I carry a journal anytime we go on a trip. Sketch books make great travel logs, it’s amazing all the little details I remember about our trips just looking at the sketches and notes. I am so much more observant when drawing than I am while photographing, the camera makes my brain lazy. Jack takes our reference photos so I can concentrate on sketching. Many times these pen and ink sketches are used as the basis for paintings. I must admit, I don’t make the time during our daily routine to sketch as often as I’d like.

Today I want to introduce you to an artist who sketches all the time, Charity Dakin. She came to our workshop last year. CLICK HERE to visit Charity’s website. Charity’s sketchbooks are absolutely delightful, I would love to be able to just sit down and go through them, reading every notation.

Here is a page from the journal she carried when she came to New Mexico for our workshop.

Charity, her husband Cal and their family live in Athabasca, Alberta, Canada. Jack and I consider her to be a true renaissance woman. Not only is she a super artist, she’s a full time mom living in the wilds of Canada. She grows an extensive garden, canning and freezing everything. They have cows and a goat named Bell that she milks. She out ice-fishes the men and hunts moose. I love the entry above from one of her journals. “The number of moose that now visit means that my apple trees are in peril, and between the dog being charged and my running out the door in a house coat and slippers and yelling like a mad woman, we have barely kept them at bay. At least it adds some excitement and a first entry in the sketchbook… a typical day “at work” for me.”

Moose in Winter Bed is one of Charity’s finished watercolor paintings based on her field sketches. For sketching in the wilds she has the neatest kit that fits in her coat pockets. It consists of a small 4″ x 6″ moleskin sketchbook, a tiny watercolor tin with 5 colors, a fine point drawing pen and a brush.

Charity sends out a delightful newsletter, to sign up just CLICK HERE.

Or if you would like to read some of the past issues CLICK HERE.

Hope this inspires you to start sketching. All you need is a Sharpie pen with a sketchbook and you are ready to draw the world around you. People, animals, or just whatever strikes your fancy. Make notations about what interested you. As you sketch you are refining your “eye-hand coordination”. If your first attempts don’t satisfy you, please do not give up. Just keep on drawing. This is about having fun, observing and recording the wonderful world around us. HAPPY SKETCHING! Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

6 Responses to “Sketching the World Around Us”

  1. mjspringett Says:

    thanks for introducing us to charity, wonderful work, MJ

  2. frances buckmaster Says:

    Workshop? Please say more about your workshops.
    Thank you.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Frances,
      Jack and I held a painting and art marketing workshop in Santa Fe last year in conjunction with my annual collector event. It was wonderful and we met some really neat artists but it proved to be too taxing on Jack. He is on Kidney Dialysis and he was just incredible pooped by the time it was all over. So I don’t think we are going to do any more. If we do I’ll let everyone know. Thank you for asking. Hugs, Mikki

  3. emma5914 Says:

    Mikki, thanks so much for sharing Charity’s work.
    I’ve already signed up for her newsletter.
    Jo

  4. cilipower Says:

    Hi Mikki, I checked out Charity’s work and love it! She really captures the northern wildlife and the northern lifestyle. Her work is wonderful, and I signed up for her newsletter. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

