A Wedding Present

Today I’m working on a little different commission, a wedding present! Laura and Mike just returned from their honeymoon in Venice a couple of weeks ago. Their Uncle and Aunt, Paul and Nancy, asked me to paint a remembrance of their wedding trip as a gift. That’s Laura and Mike in St. Mark’s Square on the right.

I was provided with a couple of pictures the newlyweds took in Venice. They were lucky enough to stay at the Rialto Hotel (the red building) at the base of the Rialto Bridge. Laura asked if it was possible to paint the hotel NOT under construction. Fortunately when we were there Jack took several photos from almost this same spot and the Rialto Hotel was in its full splendor.

The second shot is in the completely opposite direction. This was taken at the foot of the bridge, the Rialto Hotel is just out of the picture on the left. Laura and Mike love the sunset on the Grand Canal with the glowing lamps. They would like to have a combination of the two. Oh, and could I add a gondola? HMMMMM……………

After a lot of thinking and doodling I decided to focus on the bridge and hotel as the sun is setting. So here is my sketch. A lamp post surrounded by flower pots will be on the left and a couple of gondolas will bob, to and fro, in the right foreground. The fun challenge will be to paint all the reflections of the glowing lights in the Grand Canal. Hope you will come follow along and watch how it turns out. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. Thank you.

4 Responses to “A Wedding Present”

  1. mariasotorobbins Says:

    I know it’s going to be gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing the progression!

  2. Paul O'Brien Says:

    Mikki
    WOW. Not sure who is more excited, Mike and Laura or Nancy and me. Looks awesome, can’t wait for next post
    Love
    Paul

  3. Bonita Zieseniss Says:

    Oh Mikki. you could give them the shetch for a gift, its so good. I will be excited to see the finished painting. They will be thrilled.

  4. Mary Johnson Says:

    I can’t wait, know it will be breath taking. you have inspired me to no end.

Leave a Reply

