Reflections

First of all I would like to extend a big Texas “Much Obliged” to all of my readers for the neat comments you have made about this painting. I totally appreciate every one of you.

All of the extra paint that I mixed for the sky, bridge and buildings has been saved and placed in rows on the left side of my palette. This will be used for the reflections, I won’t have to try to mix and match. Fortunately with oils the paint stays workable for several days. Please remember, you can click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

The bright lights on the promenade floor of the hotel are painted, I’m ready to begin on the Grand Canal. Using a mixture of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Ultramarine Blue + White I begin to block in the basic color of the water. The dark reflection of the underside of the bridge is the same mix with extra MUD added in. Reflections extend straight down from the objects casting them. Therefore the darker color is pulled downward with a #12 Bright brush into the wet paint of the water.

My objective at this point is to get the water covered. Using the blue I mixed in the previous step the water along the distant edge of the Grand Canal is painted. The color of the sky influences the water closest to the viewer so that part of the canal is blocked in with some of the sky colors that were saved. The area of transition between the two is softened with a brush dragged horizontally.

Now for the reflections of the buildings and lights seen under the bridge. First the color is pulled straight down. Then horizontal strokes are made to indicate the lights glimmering and dancing on the rippling water.

Using paint saved from the previous session the deep colors of the Rialto Hotel are painted into the water below the structure.

Finally the bright reflections shimmering from the well-lit, bustling restaurant are pulled into the dark water. WOW, what a difference that makes. This is so much fun. I took the liberty of changing the tablecloths on the outdoor tables at the base of the bridge to a deep red, cooler than the warm yellow ones that were originally there. Just following that simple rule: Warm Colors come forward, Cool Colors go back. Just making sure those tables stay in the background. I’m so excited about this painting, thank you for joining in the process. Please feel free to ask questions. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

To receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. Thank you.

6 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. Mary Nixon Says:

    Out of all your posts I seem to be enjoying this one the most. Thank you for sharing

    Mary Nixon, Vancouver, BC Canada

  2. Bonita Zieseniss Says:

    Mikki, already its so beautiful, the wedding couple will love it.

  3. Janet Zeh Says:

    Mikki, this is an amazing painting. I love the mood you have captured already. Just beautiful.

  4. priti Says:

    beautiful painting ! for me looking at your paintings is like going to a art class.

  5. Nishat Says:

    Mikki your painting r truly breath taking thats all I can say because I look at your painting it takes my breath away……..love your painting

Leave a Reply

