Sunny Trio

Today’s project is a little different. Instead of painting on canvas I’m working on a Tee Shirt for a longtime friend of ours. The blank tee is slipped over a 24″ x 30″ inch canvas, securely taped and the edges are shrink wrapped. This way I can handle it without worrying about messing up the white shirt. A small Bright brush is used to draw up the basic outline on the Tee Shirt. Then the broad leaves of the Sunflowers are blocked in. To see any of the pictures larger just click on the image.

A large Bright brush is used to paint the petals of the Sunflowers. Various proportions of a range of colors from Cadmium Red Light to Cadmium Orange to Cadmium Yellow Medium are mixed for the sunny blossoms. Some of the Cadmium Orange is mixed with MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) to make the dark centers.

Here is a closeup of the finished Sunflowers. All we have to do now is wait for the paint to set and Sunny Trio will be off to it’s new owner.

Sunny Trio     Original Hand Painted Tee Shirt

Several of you have asked if these hand painted tees are washable. Absolutely. Just turn them inside out and wash in cold water on the gentle cycle. Dry the tee on low heat, remove it from the dryer while it is still damp, turn it right side out and hang it on a hanger to finish drying. Come back and visit the studio soon, I’ll be starting on a large painting for Taos next. Have a great day. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

To receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. Thank you.

5 Responses to “Sunny Trio”

  1. setsuka@san.rr.com Says:

    Mikki, I really like it. It looks very clean and spotless. How do you clean your brushes while painting? Do you use a clean or new brush for each different color? Thanks, Setsuka

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      I use toilet tissue to wipe my brushes as I paint, usually every two or three strokes. One wipe and I throw the tissue away. This way I don’t get paint on my hands. If you use a paper towel you have a tendency to hold on to it too long, ending up with paint everywhere you don’t want it. I also swish out the brushes in odorless paint thinner as I work. The secret to crisp colors is a clean brush.

  2. Janet Zeh Says:

    What a great idea Mikki. Thanks for sharing how you get the painting done without messing up the shirt. Brilliant! ~Janet

  3. mariasotorobbins Says:

    Mikki,
    Love your creation. Do you use regular oils when painting on the fabric?

Leave a Reply

