A Trip to Taos

Let’s go to Taos! It is such a quaint New Mexico village with wandering alleyways; surprises await around every bend. My first step today is to make a sketch using some of the many reference photos we’ve taken over the years. A few color notations are jotted at the bottom so I will remember what I had in mind as the sketch was made. If you would like to see any of the pictures larger click on the image.

Now I’ll draw the basic elements up on the canvas. A thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + LIQUIN is made. The window and shutters in the right foreground are drawn first, then the door on the left. These will determine the proportions of the building in the distance. By the way, several of you have asked about our canvas. I work on contempo, or gallery wrap, canvases that we purchase from Sunbelt Manufacturing in Longview, Texas. Pat Conner is a wonderful person to work with and will make ANY size canvas you need, either gallery wrap or standard. His prices are very reasonable and the quality is excellent. CLICK HERE to view Sunbelt’s website or call Pat at 800.333.8412. Believe me, you will be glad you did. And….. please tell Pat we said to say HI.

The structure of the background adobe is lightly sketched in. As I’m drawing I stop from time to time to look at the painting in the mirror that is behind me in the studio. This is a tool that is essential to an artist. Looking at your piece of art in the mirror switches it from the artistic side of the brain to the analytical side, allowing you to critique your work as if someone else had done it.

The buildings and basic elements are up on the canvas. I’ve indicated the shadows with a thin oil wash. The sunlight will pour in from the right side of the canvas, the old adobe with the arched window and shutters will cast a shadow across the front of the piece providing a “Threshold”. I’ll explain more about that as I’m painting. Please come back to watch and always feel free to ask questions. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

To receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. Thank you.

One Response to “A Trip to Taos”

  1. Gherry Taylor Says:

    This looks like it’s going to be a good one! I like it already,

Leave a Reply

