Planning a Commission

Commissions are so cool to do. I love to take my client’s desires and design a painting around them. It’s amazing the neat ideas our collectors come up with. Many times I’ll say, “Gee, I wish I had thought of that!” Frank asked for a courtyard with colorful doors and lots of bright flowers. So first of all I went through our pictures of courtyards to plan the basic architecture. The two photos that sparked my thinking for the layout are shown above. I used the stairs leading up to the door on the left and the gate from the picture on the right.

Frank and his wife have 3 daughters. The most important part of the commission is to personalize it with specific elements that will represent all of them. The wine and cheese are for Frank and Sarah. She is a golfer so we leaned a golf bag, adorned with her initials, beside the door. Valentine’s Day is very significant for Lara so the wrought iron chairs with the hearts are for her. A rose will go on the tile by the gate at the far right for Molly Rose. Adelaide, the youngest, is nicknamed “Doodles”. You’ll see what we decided to do for her when we get to that part of the painting! The sketch is complete and approved. If you would like to see it larger just click on the picture. In the next session we’ll start putting it all up on the canvas. Do come back and watch. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

One Response to “Planning a Commission”

  1. Ellen Walton Says:

    What a wonderful and clever idea. Can see why everyone was so pleased.

Leave a Reply

