We Open our Hearts

First of all Jack and I want to open our hearts to all of those touched by the shootings in Colorado. It is hard to even begin to comprehend how someone could do something so awful. We have you in our thoughts and prayers.

Remember all that paint I saved from my previous painting? Well, it is perfect to use for the old roof, the various colors give the feel of the weathered clay tiles. Since it has sat a couple of days the paint is a bit thicker, giving a really nice texture.

New paint is mixed for the stucco walls. The adobe color is made of various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) is added into the darker mixes for the shadow areas. Then a couple of shades of Ultramarine Blue + White are also made.

Some of that blue mixture is added at the far end of the wall on the left to make it appear as if it is dropping back. Artists work on a two-dimensional surface, the canvas, attempting to make it look three-dimensional. Here is a simple rule that helps to achieve that goal: Warm Colors come forward, Cool Colors go back. The front of the wall is painted with a warmer mixture, making it project forward.

I rest my wrist on a mahl stick hooked over the top edge of the canvas to paint the lantern. This helps to steady my hand as I delineate the details. It also alleviates the strain on my shoulder. The edge of the canvas is covered with blue painter’s tape. This protects our White Senkarik Signature Frame. When the painting is finished I will pull off the tape, leaving the clean, white frame.

While the roof is still wet I want to work on the White Spanish Jasmine. Several different shades of lavender, blue and aqua are mixed for the blossoms. The green for the foliage is a mix of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Yellow Medium.

I block in the flower area with the various blues and lavenders. The area is covered quickly, smooshing all of those pretty colors together. I don’t want it to be smooth, the jumble of color will give the appearance of flower petals in shadow.

Next the greens of the leaves are worked around the flowers, shaping the blossoms. Following this sequence, Flowers First, Leaves Last, keeps the flower color clean and bright. If I were to paint the foliage first and then the flowers, my brush would pick up the underlying green paint, muddying the whites. To see any of these pictures enlarged just click on the image. Thank you for visiting our studio today, hope you will drop in again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

One Response to “We Open our Hearts”

  1. pitzersart Says:

    Fun to watch the process taking place!

Leave a Reply

