A Whisper of Tranquility

I thought those of you new to my blog would like to see my palette setup. To view it larger just click on the image. I use a culinary cart on wheels, the two shelves are great for storing paint and extra tissue for cleaning my brush as I work. My palette is a 1/4″ piece of glass placed on a white shelf board. This is helpful since I paint on a white canvas. The glass makes for easy clean up with a single blade paint scraper. Mr. Frog, the little green frog container given to us by a collector, holds new razor blades. To the right of him is a tube squeezer which helps save a lot of paint. The T-square was used to draw the perspective lines for the buildings in my initial sketch on canvas. And football season is almost here, GO COWBOYS! My paint mixtures for the floor are ready to go, let’s get started.

The floor surface is completely covered. The light area is made cooler in the distance and warmer as it comes forward. The same technique is followed on the shadow across the front, bluer in the back and warmer in the very front.

The lines separating the large stones are made with the corner of a small Bright brush. These are indicated loosely. I just want to give the impression of the crevices, not outline each and every individual stone.

The large ceramic pots are made of various mixes of Pthalo Blue + a little Hansa Lemon Yellow + White. Ultramarine Blue is added for the darker areas. Bright red-orange Nasturtiums fill this container. Orange is the complementary color of blue, placing them together makes the flowers appear even more intense.

Butterfly Iris are placed in the corner. I don’t follow my regular sequence of Flowers first, Leaves last. Because the blossoms are so delicate the strap like foliage is blocked in first and then I “Lay” the flower color over the green. I’m careful not to pick up any of the underlying color as I’m forming the flowers so the white doesn’t get muddy.

A Whisper of Tranquility     30″ x 40″     Original Oil Painting

Deep Red Coleus fill the containers at the left and a few streams of water fall over the edge of the fountain, bringing A Whisper of Tranquility to this old, Tuscan courtyard. This show piece is finished. I think we might travel to Provence next. Thanks for following along today. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

6 Responses to “A Whisper of Tranquility”

  1. Janet Zeh Says:

    Gorgeous! It must be stunning to see in person.

  2. P L Mills Says:

    Beautiful..and very balanced. One of my favorites.

  3. Sharu Says:

    Hey Miki, thanks for sharing your beautiful work. Could you please tell me which bluish colour have you used on the wall beside the blue door and behind the black railing above the roses….thank you.

  4. Paul Says:

    Ribbit

  5. pitzersart Says:

    This may be the best ever!! And does it ever give you a sense of tranquility!

Leave a Reply

