Rippling Reflections

The basic blues of the water are painted first. The most distant part of the canal is in the sunlight; the rest of the water remains in shadow.

Reflections are pulled, straight down into the wet paint of the water.

Here is where all of that leftover color comes in handy, I don’t have to mix more paint for the reflections. Strokes of the building and door colors are pulled horizontally to indicate the ripples in the water.

The foreground canal is now blocked in. OPPS! I don’t have the reflection of the arched bridge correct.

SO…….I take my painting knife and scrape all of the paint off the canvas in the foreground and start over. This is one of the things I love about oil paint. If you don’t like what you’ve done you can scrape it all off and begin again!

There, don’t you think that looks better? I still have to work on the reflections of the gondola and mooring post but that will be done when I paint the boat. The piece is really changing now the water is complete. I’m so excited about how this is turning out, Venice is so much fun to paint.

Last, but certainly not least, Jack’s newest article is out on Fine Art Studio Online. This was a hard one for him to write, Jack had several starts before he got it the way he wanted.  CLICK HERE to read “End of the Trail.” Have a great day. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Tags:

6 Responses to “Rippling Reflections”

  1. Same... Says:

    This one is beautiful.

  2. rasha Says:

    so beautiful

  3. nanseesart Says:

    love it. I read Jack’s “End of the Trail” and was very sad. I know how hard that must have been to write. I enjoy reading his articles so much. They are full of experience, wisdom, wit, and joy. Sure wish he was able to mentor me. I consider him to be one of the greats.

  4. Karma Lee Couture Says:

    The colors are all so engaging and excite my imagination. I cant wait to see it all done.

  5. nanseesart Says:

    Hugs and Jesus’ blessings right back at cha. I would hug you if I could.

    Blessings by the Cupp-ful,
    Nancy Cupp

Leave a Reply

