A Touch of Romance

We have the nicest readers. A heartfelt “Thanks” to all of you for your wonderful and kind comments. We so appreciate you and your support.

Let’s plant some flowers to embrace the little outdoor cafe table. Geraniums, some of my favorites, are seen everywhere in Venice so we’ll fill the containers with them. The colorful blossoms are blocked in first, followed by the leaves. Remember, you can enlarge any of these pictures by clicking on the image.

Jack suggested the bud vase on the table filled with fresh pink roses. Isn’t he so romantic? And…… I’m sure you noticed I had signed the painting yesterday at the bottom of the gondola. NO, I’ve not signed it twice. We felt the signature was distracting to the shape of the boat so I painted it out and resigned the painting here.

The umbrella is painted with various mixes of Cobalt Blue + a tiny bit of Pthalo Blue + White. The blue of the ‘brella appears even more intense with the sienna, or basically orange, building behind it. This is because blue and orange are complimentary colors or across the color wheel from each other. Placing them close together makes the umbrella look brighter.

A Touch of Romance    32″ x 44″    Original Oil Painting

We’re done! I have to admit I’m so pleased with how this turned out. There were moments I experienced sheer terror, especially with the water. Thank goodness oil paints are so forgiving. A Touch of Romance is ready to bring the enchantment of Venice to a collector’s home. I’ve enjoyed having you visit our studio. Please come back, I’ll be working on more paintings for my annual Collector Event. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

14 Responses to “A Touch of Romance”

  1. Ric & Linda Says:

    I just love your work Linda Cosner

  2. Same Says:

    one of my favorites. i loved italy, this brought back very pleasant memories. a beautiful painting.

  3. Cathy Dellinger Says:

    Beautiful. I am so intrigued with your palette. I just have to find the time to put it into practice. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Bruce Michael Pope Says:

    I LOVE IT! Swear I have been there! And the water is fabulous. Funny how our fears become our greatest successes.

  5. mariasotorobbins Says:

    Another beautiful painting! Would love to have that baby hanging in my living room! Thanks for sharing, teaching, and inspiring us with your talents.
    Hugs~

  6. Sandra Cutrer Says:

    Your work is always so beautiful and full of life, Mikki! I can’t imagine you “panicking”, but it sure helps me to know even more experienced artist panic! Blessings to you and Jack.

  7. Lance Says:

    This painting is one of the best I have ever seen

  8. Ernie Kleven Says:

    Mikki, I think you outdid yourself with this one. It is fantastic. You are an inspiration to me. I’ve learned much from watching you.

  9. Janet Zeh Says:

    Absolutely enchanting! Love how you did the water, Mikki.

  10. Renuka Pillai Says:

    Very awesome painting…you are most truley blest!

  11. Jennifer Young Says:

    Ah this one’s close to my heart. So beautifully done, Mikki! And what a fascinating step-by-step. Brava!

  12. Kathy Says:

    Mikki, this one is by far my favorite. Getting the perspective, lines and angles I know is tough, and this one is loaded with them. You’ve done a beautiful job!

  13. Abbas Says:

    you work is very beautiful .i paint and so live in Iran.your work full of life and very glad.will be successful.

Leave a Reply

