Forever Lake Como

Pink Petunias offer a nice contrast to the water behind them. As I block in the flowers with shades of Permanent Rose + White and Permanent Rose + Magenta + White I make sure to leave the area around the wine glasses uncovered.

Leaves are now worked around the blossoms and wine glasses. Green is the complimentary color, or across the color wheel, from the red of the wine. Placing them next to each other makes the red appear more intense. The deep centers of the Petunias are added with Magenta.

I let the Petunias drape down behind the wine bottle so it doesn’t get lost in the leaves. The shadow, or right, side of the bottle is rimmed with blue to help “Round” the bottle.

After the glasses and basket of grapes are complete I paint the lacy fronds of the palms in the foreground container. Mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Hansa Lemon Yellow are used for the warm greens.

Daylilies are some of the few flowers I don’t paint in my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last. It’s much, much easier to paint the strap-like leaves first than trying to work them around the Daylilies. Then I gently “Lay” the color of the flowers on top of the green. I’m careful not to let my brush pick up any of the underlying leaf color which would muddy the blossoms.

Going back to my normal order the flowers of the Coreopsis are painted first. The daisy like blossoms are made with mixes of Cadmium Yellow Medium + Cadmium Orange and pure Cadmium Yellow Medium. For the leaves here I use the same greens of Pthalo Blue + Hansa Lemon Yellow that were used for the Daylily foliage.

Highlights of Hansa Lemon Yellow accentuate the petals of the Coreopsis.

The flowers of the white Rose of Sharon are blocked in with several shades of blue and lavender. This color mass will serve as the shadows of the white blossoms.

Forever Lake Como    24″ x 30″   Original Oil Painting

After the leaves of the Rose of Sharon are painted I come back and add Pure White where the sunlight caresses the fragile blossoms. The final touch is to put in the red centers and yellow stamens. We’re done. I don’t know about you but I’m ready to take a seat, have a sip of wine and enjoy the view that is “Forever Lake Como”. I’ve really had a wonderful time working on this collaboration with our collectors. Hope you’ve had as much fun following along. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “Forever Lake Como”

  1. mjspringett Says:

    Lovely work mikki, if i had enough money, i would have my walls covered with your flowers, thanks for the white house friendships, MJ

  2. Greta Jourdane Says:

    Mikki your artworks are superb, I just love them.. all of them, you have a wonderful and very unique gift indeed. Greta Jourdane

  3. nader yerushalimi Says:

    simply awsome beautiful, vivid lively colored.

Leave a Reply

