How We Embellish a Limited Original Giclee

Before we get started I want to let you know Jack’s latest article has hit the internet on Fine Art Studio Online. CLICK HERE to read Those Who Know.

Our Limited Original Giclees on canvas are high quality digital reproductions of my oil paintings. Even though each one is part of a numbered edition, I go back in and do a lot of hand embellishing. Therefore every giclee in the edition is different, or an original. That’s how Jack came up with the name, Limited Original. The giclee is taped to double ply cardboard and two thin coats of UV Varnish are applied with a foam brush. After that dries for a day we are ready to begin painting.

Alkyd Oil Paints are used for enhancing the giclee on canvas because they dry so much faster than our regular Oil Paint. The thickest brushstrokes will be totally dry in a day or two. I use the same colors that are on our regular palette. To learn more about our color mixing system CLICK HERE.

Our collector wanted to replace the red barn in this piece with one from The Glory Never Fades, a commission I painted a few years ago. She really liked the Texas Flag on the roof and weathered wood structure in that painting. I decided to attach a small lean-to on the side of the barn for added interest.

Jack and I agree with Sheree, we love the barns you see in Texas with our Lone Star painted on the roof. This is always fun to do, the Ultramarine Blue used for the blue field of the flag is dulled down with touch of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. The star is in the shadow cast by the large live oak so a little of the blue from the roof is added to the White to darken it.

The final touch on the barn is to add a horseshoe over the door for good luck. You may have to enlarge the picture to see it more clearly, just click on the image. Do remember, if you decide to put a lucky horseshoe over your door make sure the open end is directed upward. You don’t want your luck to run out! Have a wonderful day and I hope I’m lucky enough to have you come back tomorrow to visit our studio. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “How We Embellish a Limited Original Giclee”

  1. Jo Ann Morgan Says:

    I just love how bright and sunny your paintings are. I like the embellishments made on this painting which reminds me of the countryside of the home I had in the rural area of my state. I look forward to being inspired by your blog everyday.
    Jo Ann M

  2. mjspringett Says:

    Lovely work mikki, MJ

  3. janice hightower Says:

    You are so generous to share your techniques and materials with other artists. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

