Spicy Shadows

This is going to be a companion piece to Early Snowfall for Wilder Nightingale Gallery in Taos. The basic elements are sketched up on the canvas and the chili ristras are washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. While the color mass is still wet I go back in and lift off the wash with a clean brush to indicate the peppers. Then the window area is washed in with MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin and Ultramarine Blue + Liquin.

See how the wash in the window is not solid? I’ve done that intentionally. When the window frame and sash are painted over this area the uneven color will give the impression of something in the room inside. Next the light and shadow pattern on the old adobe wall is blocked in.

The rounded lintel and window are made of mixtures of Pthalo Blue + a touch of Hansa Lemon Yellow + White. This makes a crisp, Southwestern turquoise blue. Returning to the ristras, I paint them opaquely. Lots of thick texture is used to give the shape of the individual chilis.

The light and shadows of the tile floor are blocked in. Then I draw the perspective lines separating the tiles with a fine liner brush.

Purple Salvia is a nice compliment to the Yellow Sunflowers in the container. The mass of the sunny blossom color is painted first with mixes of Cadmium Yellow Medium + a touch of MUD and pure Cadmium Yellow Medium.

Various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Hansa Lemon Yellow are used for the broad leaves of the Sunflowers. The greens are worked around the yellow helping to shape the flowers. Dark centers are added and presto! Sunflowers begin to magically appear.

Now how am I supposed to get any work done with this little munchkin peering around my laptop? That is Sissie, one of our two shelter kitties. She stole Molly’s place on my taboret. Sissie just wants me to rub and rub and rub her tummy! Well, I suppose I’ll have to take a petting break. The hollyhocks will have to wait till the baby is satisfied. I use the laptop to view my reference material. It makes it so easy to flip through several images and enlarge them to see the details.

Spicy Shadows    14″ x 11″    Original Oil Painting

Pink Hollyhocks finish out the lower left corner and Spicy Shadows will be off to New Mexico via FedEx in the morning. Remember, if you would like to see any of these pictures larger just click on the image. Thank you for visiting our studio today. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “Spicy Shadows”

  1. Jody Poehl Says:

    Very nice as always if I could just spend a day with you I’m sure I could learn a lot that I could take to my campus… Maybe someday

  2. Jody Poehl Says:

    Oops I was meaning to post here not sure where I posted on the other 1 but I was saying it looks very nice as always and I wish I could spend a day with you

  3. Bunnie H. Says:

    I would have to agree with Jody! I would love to spend just one day with you and I think I could learn something that would last me a lifetime! Your composition and the colors that you use always make me happy. =)

Leave a Reply

