Where Do Ideas Come From?

Frequently I’m asked where I get my ideas. The answer is simple, everywhere. Jack and I are constantly picking up bits and pieces; a picture from a magazine here, a photo there. It seems any place I look something interesting catches my eye. If we don’t have the camera handy I’ll make a quick sketch, just something to jog my memory. Today I’m working on a painting for our new gallery in Taos, Wilder Nightingale. The scrap on the left was pulled from a real estate magazine, we took the photo on the right along the Rio Grande going to Taos.

I love the stairway and stepped wall in the Real Estate picture. It generated the idea for a Southwestern hide away nestled along the Rio Grande. The curve of the River is perfect for what I have in mind. I make a quick pencil sketch to establish the basic elements. Originally this was planned for a 20″ x 24″ canvas. As the drawing progressed I realized it needed to be larger.

So I go with a 24″ x 30″ canvas. Our white Senkarik Signature Frame is protected by blue painter’s tape. When the piece is complete the tape will be pulled off, revealing the pristine frame. The composition is sketched on the blank surface with a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

The sketch on canvas is finished. We’ve taken tons of photos along the drive to Taos. I’ve used a couple of different shots for the mountains rising from the riverbed. Have a great day and we hope you’ll stop in to visit our studio again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “Where Do Ideas Come From?”

  1. Jody Poehl Says:

    Nice composition so far looking good

  2. kathy leigh berkowitz Says:

    Wow, Mikki 🙂 I love the angles –

  3. Zak Eissa Says:

    As always, making great piece of art. Thanks a lot Mikki for sharing your expertise

  4. mjspringett Says:

    i love that you can combine several ideas in one “masterpiece”, this is wonderful, thanks MJ

Leave a Reply

