Red, White and Blue

This commission began with a little different request. Our collectors love the Fourth of July and want all of the flowers to be Red, White or Blue. Santa Fe, with its unique architecture, is one of their favorite places and they asked for a typical river bosque through the gate. My sketch is shown above.

Several of you have inquired about my painting setup. The palette where I mix paint is 1/4 inch glass placed on a white shelf board. Since we paint on a white canvas it just makes sense to mix the paint on a white surface. The shelf board sits on top of a culinary cart with wheels. By having studio furniture with wheels I can adjust my painting setup to fit the piece I’m working on, from very small to huge. In fact, this particular collector owns the largest piece I’ve ever painted, Breathtaking Retreat, 72″ x 96″. CLICK HERE to see that painting. The shelves underneath the palette make it easy to keep all of my supplies organized. The toilet tissue is used to wipe my brushes as I work. The secret of crisp, bright colors on the canvas is a clean brush. A smaller kitchen cart, made to hold a microwave, serves as a taboret. It is also on wheels and provides the perfect place for a laptop, reference material and my supervisor, Molly our shelter kitty. The walker to the left of my setup holds a garbage bag. You can click on the picture to see the image enlarged.

The design is sketched up on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + a liberal amount of Liquin. You can see the tissue for cleaning my brush in my left hand. After a few wipes the tissue is tossed away. Many artists use paper towels to clean their brushes. I don’t because I tend to hold onto the larger paper far too long, getting paint all over my hands and clothes.

The basic elements are all sketched up and we will begin painting in the next session. Hope you will come watch. Have a great evening. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “Red, White and Blue”

  1. Nancy Cupp Says:

    Hi Mikki,
    Love your work, as always. Tell Jack I really appreciated his article about art and “All Is Not Lost”. It offered hope. It was thoughtful and well written. I was encouraged. Sometimes things just need to be said, and he said it well. He was kind and courteous. I needed to hear what he said and thank him for his courage to say it! Sometimes we just gotta stand up for what is right and true, even when it is controversial. Thank you Jack!

  2. Tatiana Myers Says:

    Hi, Mikki!
    I also wanted to mention that I loved the article… Indeed even my husband went to read it and enjoyed it greatly (have to mention – he loves history and he spend his teen years in TX). Jack just nailed it. You have good man by Your side. You two be fine regardless what else is going on. Continue to create!

Leave a Reply

