Construction Zone

Let’s start building. The adobe walls are painted with various mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) is added to the mixture for the shadows.

This is a first for me. If you’ve followed my blog for long you know my doors and windows are usually brightly colored. Our collector requested a natural wood door with a speak easy trap window. This is one of the things I really enjoy about doing commissions, it’s fun to try new things. My wrist is braced against a mahl stick to steady my hand as I paint the small detail. What is a mahl stick? CLICK HERE to find out.

The gate entering the courtyard is to be a weathered turquoise. The light and shadows are first painted on the gate with mixes of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. Next a lighter tone is lightly dragged over the first coat. I let the light layer skip and bump over the darker undercoating. This gives texture and provides a weathered look.

The gates are complete and I begin blocking in the Thunbergia Vine draping over the adobe wall and building. The flowers are various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + a tiny touch of Dioxazine Purple + White.

The greens of the leaves are worked around the flower color. I follow the sequence Flowers First, Leaves Last for good reason. By painting the flowers first my color remains clean. If I were to block in the leaves first, my brush would pick up some of the underlying green when painting the flowers. This would make the flower color muddy. Thank you for visiting our studio today. Hope to see you again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

One Response to “Construction Zone”

  1. pitzersart Says:

    This is a “dandy”! I guess you already have a spot to send this one?!?! . LOTS of good comments on “Baskets” already. People are loving it! . Thank you for sending! . Rob Pitzer Pitzers Fine Arts P O Box 2850 Wimberley, Texas 78676 G: 512-722-6032 C: 512-983-1085 rob@pitzersart.com http://www.pitzersart.com Sola Gracia *(By Grace Alone)*

Leave a Reply

