A Special Visitor

Following the Red, White and Blue theme two kinds of White flowers are planted in the right foreground. Hollyhocks stand tall behind Matilija Poppies. The Hollyhock blossoms are blocked in with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + White and Dioxazine Purple + White. Combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Lemon Yellow are used for the foliage.

Alizarin Crimson makes the dark centers of the large blossoms while Pure White is used for the highlights on the Hollyhocks.

Yellow stamens complete the stately Hollies. The flowers of the Matilija Poppies are painted with mixes of Pthalo Blue + White and Pthalo Blue + a little bit of Lemon Yellow + White. This makes the shadows of these blossoms warmer than those of the Hollyhocks behind. In the picture above I’m working on a sunlit area of leaves that will provide a backdrop for a special visitor to the garden.

Now for the Pop of White on the Poppies! I mix just the tiniest touch of Cadmium Yellow Medium into the White for the highlights on the crepe paper like blossoms. This makes the White a little warmer than the Hollyhocks. Warm Colors come forward, Cool Colors go back. Even though both plants have white flowers the Poppies will appear to come forward.

Here comes the surprise guest, a Ruby Throated Hummingbird. This is the first time I’ve ever put a Hummingbird in one of my garden paintings. Our collectors have several flittering around their home and hoped I could put one in their piece. You bet!

Here is a closeup of that cute little baby happily sipping away on the Firecracker Penstemon. To see it larger just click on the picture.

Jack is the official namer in our studio. When I finished I turned to him and said, “I need a name.” He came over to my easel, looked at the piece, thought a bit and then broke out in a huge grin. After pausing a few more moments he announced with a florish, “Hummingbird Hideaway!” So there you are, I love the name. Hope you had as much fun following along as I had painting. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “A Special Visitor”

  1. moogzuck@aol.com Says:

    Hi Mikki and Jack:

    Nathan and I want to wish you both a very happy thanksgiving!!! We are in FLA enjoying the weather and admiring our 2 Mikki pieces and Jacks golf course piece!!

    Thinking of you and enjoying it all!!

    Joanie Moogan-Zuckerman, CRNA cell 267-566-1843

  2. Howard Cooperman Says:

    Mikki, I’d like to live there. I know it’s not a real place. More a fantasy or dream place. That’s why your paintings are so special to me.

    Hope your other followers and collectors feel the same way. Makes me feel good just looking at your artwork.

  3. Phyllis Hilley Says:

    Sweet,Mikki! Love it! Hugs,Phyllis Hilley; Santa Fe Art Collector.
    505-988-5545

Leave a Reply

