Ready, Set, Sketch!

SL11112 Joe's Barn Step 1

Let’s get to work on the canvas. The piece is framed in our White Senkarik Signature Frame. Blue painter’s tape protects it as I work. When the piece is finished the tape will be removed, leaving the frame clean and pristine. To start the barn and car are penciled in, establishing the placement of the focal elements. To see this better you can enlarge the picture, just click on the image. The rest of the plan is then sketched on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin mixture of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I rest my wrist on a mahl stick to steady my hand as I draw the details of the lanterns. What is a mahl stick? CLICK HERE to find out.

SL11112 Joe's Barn Step 2

Now I come back to draw the barn and car with the oil wash. Most of the details are drawn with the aid of my mahl stick. Sunlight floods into the painting from the left, the shadows on the building are blocked in using a large Bright brush.

SL11112 Joe's Barn Step 3

The basic value of the mountain is washed in. The final step is to establish the tire tracks in the snow and the shadows streaming across the foreground. Whew! We’re done with the oil sketch. Tomorrow we’ll start with the real painting! Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

One Response to “Ready, Set, Sketch!”

  1. Olga Packard Says:

    Thank you for mentioning the kind of brush that you used for the shadows on the building. I often wonder what your favorite brushes are and what sizes you use. I look forward to your messages every day. You have helped me so much in my painting!

Leave a Reply

