Tuscan Courtyard

Gallery 1870 sketch 3 Tuscan Courtyard

Today I’m starting on a piece for Gallery 1870 in the Napa Valley. They are located in the VMarketplace in Yountville. If you are in the area please stop in and visit Kathy and Paul Thoren, the owners. They and their staff are so friendly; they’ll make you feel right at home. Now for their special piece. Tuscany is one of my favorite places to paint and the distant village of San Gimignano is one of the jewels of this part of Italy.

SA0113 Step 1

Perspective lines are established and then I begin drawing the arches with a thin oil wash. You can click on the image to see any of these pictures larger.

SA0113 Step 2

Opps! The bottom edge of the tile roof on the arch in the background is too low, it needs to be raised. I’ve primed the canvas with acrylic, leaving the surface a bit slicker than it would be with gesso. This makes it so easy to “erase” any lines I want to change. A little clump of tissue is dipped in Turpenoid paint thinner and used to wipe the lower line of the tile off.

SA0113 Step 3

After the basic architectural elements are drawn the hilltop village through the arch, San Gimignano, is sketched. Just like constructing a house, the building has to be completed before the gardening begins. Now I can begin landscaping.

SA0113 Step 4

Those of you who have been following my blog for a while know I love gardening. This is one of my favorite stages of the painting, I add pots and pots of flowers.

SA0113 Step 5

I decided to move the two pots in the lower right corner. This arrangement is more pleasing. I just wish it was this easy to move the heavy terra cotta containers in our garden! The light and dark shadows on the building are blocked in and we’re ready to begin painting. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow and watch! Smiles and Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “Tuscan Courtyard”

  1. mjspringett Says:

    Thanks mikki, lovely start, MJ

  2. maninder Says:

    can call ur work as happy paintings

Leave a Reply

