A Villa by the Sea

Gallery 1870 sketch 1 Coast

We’ve gotten comments from a lot of readers living in the “Frozen Tundra” who not only have spring fever, but cabin fever as well. So let’s escape the cold and run away to a villa by the sea!

SB0413 Step 1 with vanishing points

In sketching up my basic plan on canvas the horizon line is established first. The vanishing points for the building and courtyard are indicated by the red arrows. The one on the left is for the courtyard wall on the right. The vanishing point on the right is used to draw the wall with the arches. Just click on the image to see the picture larger.

SB0413 Step 2

The area where the windows will be on the door is covered with oil washes of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin and Ultramarine Blue + Liquin. This is applied unevenly with some transparency, I don’t want the area to be totally opaque. When the door is finished the variegated dark will look as if there are objects in the room beyond the glass. I also begin adding some shadows.

SB0413 Step 3

The table and chairs, along with the plants in the courtyard are now drawn.

SB0413 Step 4

The shoreline in the background is sketched in. After seeing the beach and rocks I realized the courtyard wall was a little too low, you can see where I raised it up just a bit. We’re ready to begin applying paint. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow and watch. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “A Villa by the Sea”

  1. Jim Says:

    Mikki,
    Really like your work. I’ve followed your blog for some time and have learned a lot about design, color, and perspective. I’m interested in how long you wait once you’ve done your sketch in mud before you start the painting. I’d also like you to comment on why you use pthalo blue instead of one like prussian or cobalt in your double palette.

    Thanks,
    Jim

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Jim,
      I usually wait overnight after I’ve done the sketch with the Mud oil wash, especially on a larger painting. On my smaller pieces I usually begin painting as soon as the basic outline is drawn up on the canvas. The oil wash is pretty thin so it really doesn’t influence the paint going over it.
      I use Pthalo Blue because it’s a cool blue that has a tiny touch of yellow in it. Here is the link to our color mixing system that explains more:
      https://mikkisenkarik.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/our-color-mixing-system/
      We don’t use Prussian Blue because it sabatoges any color it is mixed into and will turn black over time. I do use Cobalt Blue for skies and doors. It’s a nice crisp blue. Thank you for following my blog, Mikki

  2. Maria Elvira Tóth Says:

    … molto bellisimo !

Leave a Reply

