Romantic Hide-a-Way

SB0413 Step 25SB0413 Step 26

Remember I talked about saving the wall color to use when I painted the rest of the courtyard wall? Well, I put it against the sides of a plastic yogurt container and filled the cup with water. It’s easy to take the blobs of paint out with my palette knife and put them back on the palette. The paint is fresh and ready to use.

SB0413 Step 27

Now that I’m ready to plant the flowers in the lower right corner I paint the wall behind the bed.

SB0413 Step 28

Painting the flowers over the floor and wall I gently “Lay” the blossoms on top of the underlying color. I’m careful not to pick up any of the paint underneath so the flowers remain bright and clean. Then the leaves are blocked in around the blooms.

SB0413 Romantic Hide Away closeup hummingbird

Aloe blossoms extending up over the wall help to give the feeling of depth in the painting. A hummingbird has come to grab a quick snack from the stately red flowers. Click on the picture if you  would like to enlarge the image.

SB0413 Romantic Hide Away 30x40

Romantic Hide-a-Way      30″ x 40″    Original Oil Painting

And we’re done. Wouldn’t you like to be able to spend some time with the love of your life, sipping a glass of wine while enjoying the ocean view and sound of the surf? Maybe take a walk on the beach, breathe in the salt spray and feel the wet sand between your toes. Romantic Hide-a-Way gives you an escape anytime you want. Thank you for visiting our studio and have a wonderful day. Smiles and Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

10 Responses to “Romantic Hide-a-Way”

  1. Gonny v.d. Horn-Rijsdijk Says:

    What a great idea to save the paint! I heard about freezing it…But this looks like a much better option ! How long can you store paint like this ?
    Warm greetings Gonny

  2. Peggy Black Says:

    Just breathtakng!

  3. Joanie Zuckerman Says:

    love it Mikki!!

    Joanie

  4. Sandra Cutrer Says:

    This is beautiful, as always! My favorite part is that bright red door!
    And, what a great idea about saving the paint in the yogurt cup! Do you use water based oils or pure oils for your work? I have never seen this done before, putting the paint “blobs” in water. You are just too creative and brilliant! Thank you for always going out of your way to share!

  5. ralph mitchell Says:

    Hi Mikki, I signed up for your emails several days ago and I am really enjoying watching your paintings progress and your sharing the “steps along the way” to get to the finish. Thank you for taking your time to do this and your willingness to share the creative process and what is in your mind regarding the content and atmosphere etc. in your paintings. Ralph in Ohio

    On Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 5:02 PM, Mikki Senkarik

  6. Kathy Burkholder Says:

    Just wanted to let you know we saw the birdie before we got to the close up. Ahh, romance.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Kathy,
      I have you and Gary to thank for the idea of putting a hummingbird in my paintings. We’ve had such a positive response to yours, several collectors and galleries have requested “Hummingbird Paintings”! Smiles and Hugs, Mikki

  7. Peggy Says:

    Hey there Mikki,

    I enjoy your art and your progress everyday. I am amazed at what you do in a day. But, I just ordered a palette garage. It saved your paints using oil of clove. Thot it was interesting. I got it from palettegarage.com. It looks like it is plexiglass. And….HUGS to YOU!!!

    Peggy

Leave a Reply

