Bright Blue Gates

2013-3-2 redbud 1

Spring is springing here in south Texas. Our Redbud tree is starting to blossom! Yippee!

SB1413 Step 19

Let’s get back to the landscape. The sagebrush is painted with mixes of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White. I keep all of the mixtures predominately blue, or cool, so they will recede. The warmth of the muted yellow Chamisa makes it jump forward.

SB1413 Step 20

After finishing the steps, wall and Magenta Penstemon in the distant courtyard I move to the open gates. Sarah and Jim requested blue gates and door. So I use a mix of Pthalo Blue + White to make a bright, intense blue. The shadows on the gate are painted first, then I come back and paint the sunlit portion.

SB1413 Step 22

I add rings and then highlight the edges on the boards of the gates where the sunlight catches them. You can see this better by enlarging the picture, just click on the image. The door is a little more muted because it’s deeper in shadow under the roof. I mute it by adding a touch of Ultramarine Blue into the mix of Pthalo Blue + White.

SB1413 Step 21

Every day, at the end of the painting session, I line up the extra paint on the left side of my palette. Oil paint will remain useable for 3 to 4 days like this. There is no need to cover it. When I go back to paint the lanterns and St. Frances I will have the colors I need right at my fingertips. I don’t have to take the time to remix the colors! Have a wonderful evening and hope to see you tomorrow. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

8 Responses to “Bright Blue Gates”

  1. Darrell Hilley Says:

    Why to go Mikki. Just beautiful!

  2. Suzette Gregoire Says:

    Mikki,
    you art inspirational! I do mostly watercolor and I am getting ideas that I can use…………and who knows maybe I will try oil one day. Point being, I hope I can give to the art community the way you do.
    Thank You,
    Suzette

  3. Sarah Wood Says:

    I love the depth of layers; the use of warm and cool colors to help create distance is a revelation to me. You make me wish I had the skill to create like you do! The first painting of yours we saw, hanging in the Hilton in Santa Fe, was an inviting courtyard that made me want to be inside the painting. That’s how this one makes me feel too; even more so, for being mine! Gorgeous!

  4. Edith McMullin Says:

    Thanks very very much for the detailed explanations. If you have time, could you do the same for even just one wisteria bloom. They look great! Edith McMullin

    On Sun, Mar 3, 2013 at 7:39 PM, Mikki Senkarik

  5. MimiStudio Says:

    Mikki, I am wondering why my left over oil paints do not respond the way yours do. I am in AZ and even when I cover them, the left overs are “skinned over” the next day. I use quality Holbein paints. Thanks for your tips. I love your richly colored paintings. Mimi

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Mimi,
      We lived in Carefree, just north of Scottsdale, for several years and never had a problem with the oil paint drying so quickly. It might be that the Holbein Paints dry faster. We use Winsor Newton WINTON oils in the 200 ml tubes. They are much cheaper and we’ve used them for years. On your paints you can always break through the skin and dig out the fresh paint underneath. Also you can put your extra paint in a container, then fill it with water. It should remain fresh for several days. Hope this helps, Mikki

Leave a Reply

