A Different Approach

SB1413 Step 54

I take a little different approach to the Dwarf Daylilies lining the walk on the right. My models are some we grew in our garden. The very night after I took this picture our local deer completely devoured the Daylilies. The next morning all I found were stubs!  Thank goodness I had gotten photos. On the canvas the upper flowers, extending over the courtyard floor, are blocked in first.

SB1413 Step 55

SB1413 Step 56The thin strap-like leaves make it hard to paint the foliage in and around the flowers. So all of the leaf area is now painted. I go ahead and sign the piece into the wet greens in the lower right corner. Next I begin to “Lay” the oranges of the flowers on top of the fresh paint of the leaves. As you can see at the left, my brush picks up some of the green with each stroke, I have to be very careful not to pull it into the flower color. While making the flowers I clean my large Bright brush with toilet tissue after each stroke.

SB1413 Step 57

The deep centers of the flowers are made with Alizarin Crimson + a little bit of Liquin. Then more stems are drawn into the wet paint of the leaves.

SB1413 Step 58

St. Francis is dry enough to add the water flowing from the bowl into the basin below. I drag my brush straight down, letting it skip and bump over the rough paint underneath. This helps to give the impression of moving water.

SB1413 Step 59

Rose is our collector’s middle name so we just had to grow some of these delightfully fragrant flowers in our courtyard. I go back to my usual sequence of blocking in the blossoms first. Various combinations of Permanent Rose + Cadmium Red Light + White are used. The base of the fountain was painted with a mixture of the leftover colors from the Daylily flowers and leaves. The Oranges and Greens made an adobe color with a greenish cast that makes the Pink-Red Roses appear even more intense. This is an example of another rule used in painting: Placing a color next to its complement makes it look brighter. Complementary colors are those across from each other on the color wheel, Red is directly across from Green.

SB1413 Step 60

Leaves are now painted in and around the flower color, helping to shape the Roses. Please remember, you can click on any of the pictures to enlarge them.

SB1413 In the Cool of the Courtyard 48x60

In The Cool Shade of the Courtyard   48″x60″   Original Oil Painting

Jack is the official namer in our studio. But when he read Sarah’s comment on our blog he said, “There’s your title!” She had written, “I love how the tiles curve, my eyes “walk” through the courtyard and beyond. And despite the splashes of sunlight dancing on the tiles, the courtyard feels like it has cool, shady spots too, like I could step outside and not bake instantly.”

He continued, “That’s it, In the Cool Shade of the Courtyard!” So it is! This has been such fun, Sarah and Jim have been so enthusiastic. I appreciate all of you following along. Have a great weekend and hope you’ll visit our studio again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

3 Responses to “A Different Approach”

  1. Sarah Wood Says:

    Oh Mikki, it’s everything I hoped for and more! And all the more special for being able to collaborate in the creative process and watch over your shoulder as you bring all the ideas (“Roses! A rooster!”) to life. What a gift you have; and what a gift you have given me. I can’t wait to see it in person.

    Jack, thank you for the name!

  2. Jim Says:

    Mikki,
    Thank you SO much for a beautiful scene that we will cherish forever. This is so much more than I had hoped for and it will brighten our day every time we see it.

  3. mjspringett Says:

    You are extremely disciplined, to wipe the brush after each stroke, lovely image, thanks MJ

Leave a Reply

