Weathered Doors and Roses

SC1713 Step 20

Here we go again. I’ve got the paint mixed for the windows and doors. Now, I’m sure this is a surprise…..the basic mixture #3 is Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White with just a touch of Pthalo Blue.  #1. Mostly White with a little bit of #3 added. #2. Mix #3 with a little bit more White. #4. This is mixture #3 with MUD to darken the value. I know I’ve mentioned this before but it’s amazing the variety of colors you can get from this mix in different proportions.

barn doors with roses 3

I love these old weathered barn doors from a farm near New Hope. The moment I saw them I knew they would end up in a painting.

SC1713 Step 22

After painting the windows the shadows on the doors are blocked in first with mix #3. Then I come back and paint the areas of the doors that are touched by the sun with mixture #2.

SC1713 Step 23

Resting my arm on the mahl stick to steady my hand, the lines separating the individual planks are drawn with mix #1. #2 is used in the shadows.

SC1713 Step 24

Climbing Roses fill the courtyard with fragrance. The deep red-pink blossoms are blocked in with mixes of various amounts of Alizarin Crimson + White.

SC1713 Step 25

The foliage is painted around the flower color, giving shape to the individual blossoms. Painting the roses in this sequence: Flowers First, Leaves Last helps to keep the color of the flowers crisp and clean. If the green was applied first, my brush would pick up the color from the leaves when painting the flowers, making them muddy.

SC1713 Step 26

Ahhhh! The roses are finished. Take a deep breath, can you smell that wonderful aroma? The mill is beginning to drop back now that we’re getting some warmth in the courtyard. It will really change in the next session when I tackle the floor. Hope you’ll come watch. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

4 Responses to “Weathered Doors and Roses”

  1. Ric & Linda Says:

    I enjoy your paintings Could you do a close up of how you do the flower pedals to take shape? Thanks a bunch Linda

  2. Sandy Wegmann Says:

    Love this so far! That old mill makes it so special!

  3. Bob Ragland Says:

    Thanks for the step by step. You got a hot brush.
    I have seen your work in New Mexico.

  4. Maria Elvira Tóth Says:

    …. very – very nice !!!

Leave a Reply

