Back to the Portraits

Ben Portrait ImageSB0813 Ben Step 2Remember the group of portraits I started back in February? Well our collector got sick so we decided to wait until he was well enough to take part in the progress. Dr. Kaye is doing much better now so let’s get on with painting the grandchildren. We’ll start with Ben. The reference picture is on the left, my sketch on canvas on the right. As you can see it’s definitely not an exact likeness yet. But don’t panic, I’ll refine it and make the needed adjustments as I paint.

SB0813 Ben Step 3

Kaye and his wife Sidney spent Christmas with their children and grand kids at the beach. Sidney asked if I could put the ocean in the background. Of course! I mix a large batch of the sky and ocean colors. This way all of the backgrounds will match.

SB0813 Ben Step 4

We had discussed putting clouds in but I feel they will be distracting. The warm tones of the faces will look better against the cool blues of the clear sky and water. The horizon line needs to be softened so it will fall back into the distance.

SB0813 Ben Step 5

The first step is to make a zig-zag along the entire length of the horizon.

SB0813 Ben Step 6

Then I lightly drag over the zig-zag line with a clean Bright brush. This smooths and softens the distant horizon.

SB0813 Ben Step 11

The extra sky and ocean paint is saved in a plastic cup. I’ll fill the cup with water, this keeps air from getting to the paint. It will stay fresh to use for the other three portraits.

SB0813 Ben Step 8

Ben’s hair is blocked in next. By working into the wet paint of the sky the edges of the hair remain soft. I’ll come back later and do some more work on the hair. Right now it’s a bit too reddish.

SB0813 Ben Step 9

Now let’s work on the sweater. The edge of the right shoulder is softened so it will fall back. Tomorrow we’ll begin on the face. Hope you’ll come back to watch. Have a great evening. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

4 Responses to “Back to the Portraits”

  1. ottiliawach Says:

    Hi Mikki,
    Will you list your color recipes for the skin tones?

  2. Adele Says:

    Hi Mikki
    This could not have come at a more perfect time. I was invited to do portraits in Austria during June (I am from South Africa) and need all the help I can get. I am not well experienced in portraits, so I will definately watch your every step.
    Thanks a million for your kindness in providing us with so much information and support. Adele

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Congratulations! I’m so glad this will help you. In the next couple of sessions I’ll show the recipe for mixing facial colors. Also some pointers on facial proportions. If you have any questions at all feel free to ask. Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

