The Girl in Red

Emma Portrait ImageSB0713 Emma Step 3

Emma is the last portrait of the group. My rough sketch on canvas is shown above. We decided to move Emma’s right arm down to her side so she would fit better with the other portraits.

SB0713 Emma Step 4

Her dark hair is mixed with various proportions of MUD (Alizarin Crimson + Ultramarine Blue) + Cadmium Orange. I also make a mix of Ultramarine Blue + White for the light reflecting into her hair from the sky. If you would like to know more about our Double Primary Color Mixing System just CLICK HERE.

SB0713 Emma Step 5

Emma’s hair is blocked in according to color masses. The dark areas first, then the highlights.

SB0713 Emma Step 6

I stop the hair at the line of the shirt for now. I’ll have to get the garment painted, then I can drag her long, flowing locks over the red. I paint Emma’s ear and begin working some of the facial skin tones along the side of her face, as well as into the hair line.

SB0713 Emma Step 7

After completing her neck I move to the red shirt. Mixes of Cadmium Red Deep + Magenta are used for the shadows.

SB0713 Emma Step 8

Pure Cadmium Red Deep makes the lighter areas of the shirt. Then a touch of White is added for the highlights on the collar and folds. Now I can pull the long locks of hair, blowing in the ocean breeze, over the wet paint of the blouse. I used some of the green from Helen’s sweater for Emma’s earring. I hope you are having as much fun following along as I am painting these pieces. Do come back tomorrow, we’ll be finishing up on Emma. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

5 Responses to “The Girl in Red”

  1. Patrice Says:

    I love watching what you do and how you do it Mikki . Thanks and have a Great weekend .

  2. Gail j Meincke Says:

    I have a slight problem with you calling Aliz Crimson with Ultramarine Blue and calling it mud. It is purple..I think if you mixed a yellow into the mixture,it wold indeed be ‘mud’. Otherwise, purple…
    Thanks,
    Gail

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Gail,
      When Jack developed our Double Primary mixing system he called the deep purple mixture made from Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson: MUD. He has a theory about life, if you throw enough MUD against the wall some of it will stick. Or in other words, if you try a lot of ideas some of them will be successful. He used tons of paint developing this palette. Many of the mixtures he tried weren’t successful, but the MUD works! So that’s how the name came about. You are right, it’s a beautiful deep purple.
      If you would like to learn more about our color mixing system go to this LINK:
      https://mikkisenkarik.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/our-color-mixing-system/
      Thank you for following my blog. Hugs, Mikki

  3. jewellery Says:

    I stumbled upon this site while I was looking for cartilage jewelry so I admit that I was very lucky for doing this.
    I think that this is a extremely spectacular post you have here!
    Is it ok if I post site on facebook including your url and the header of your page:
    “The Girl in Red | Mikki Senkarik”?
    Kind regards,
    Mamie

Leave a Reply

