The Final Four

SB0813 Ben 17x14SB0713 Emma 17x14Basketball? Well, it is that time of year but the Final Four I’m talking about is Ben, Emma, Stuart and Helen. The group of portraits is done.

SB0613 Stuart 17x14SB0913 Helen 17x14

Illustrating Medical Books gave me a good background for painting these portraits. My anatomy training as a Medical Illustrator certainly came into play, the names of the facial muscles danced through my mind as I painted. The Final Four will need to dry a little bit before we can ship them to their new home later in the week. I want to extend a big, Texas “Much Obliged” to Kaye and Sidney for commissioning me to paint their grandchildren. Oh, and please remember, to see any of the portraits enlarged just click on the picture.

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

4 Responses to “The Final Four”

  1. Janet Zeh Says:

    They came out wonderful, Mikki! Very nice group of portraits!

  2. Dr Vrushali Saraswat Says:

    Oh Mikki , you are inspiring me to start a portrait now!
    They are amazing.

  3. Adele Says:

    Sjoe Mikki, what a job – and you seem to have gone through it so easily. What I have learned from this exercise is that if you have the shape of the head/face and the features properly done, you are halfway there. And of course the values to indicate light and shadow to give depth. (Color itself does not seem to matter that much, except of course if you want an exact copy?) But that is easier said than done. I can understand why your illustrations helped a great deal, because I found that even if I have the shapes correct, it does not work out unless the proportions between them are correct. I sometimes got very funny-looking faces!
    This was a great learning experience for which I thank you dearly.

  4. Larry & Judy Oliver Says:

    All I can say is “WOW”. What a wonderful job!!

Leave a Reply

