Facial Proportions and Muscles

Facial muscles side view

Computers, ARRRGGGGHHHHH! Ours has been acting up the last few days. I couldn’t get online to write my blog. But finally……we’re back up and running. Several of you have asked about the muscles and proportions of the face. I did these anatomy drawings several years ago.  The musculature of the face is shown above.

Facial muscles front view

Here are the facial muscles from the front. If you would like to see any of these pictures larger just click on the image.

Facial Anatomy muscles of nose

The cartilage and muscles of the nose.

Facial Proportions 1The basic proportions of the face are illustrated above. These relationships will help any of you painting or sculpting the human face.

Facial Proportions 2

This drawing shows the relationships of the face and ear from the side. Hope you will find these drawings helpful. Please feel free to print them out if you’d like. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

5 Responses to “Facial Proportions and Muscles”

  1. Janet Zeh Says:

    Thank you Mikki – knowing the underlying structure is helpful as well as proportions. Glad you got your computer up and running again.

  2. Pete Fellner Says:

    I just saw this Mikki! Awesome! It’s also helpful to computer character animators.

  3. nanseesart Says:

    Thank you very, very much! Saved them for reference. Did you draw these yourself for a book illustration? I remember you saying you used to do medical illustrations or something like that. What was your reference point when you drew them? Did you use cadavers or what? I never really understood how medical illustration worked. Couldn’t they just use photos, or was it too gruesome for the medical field. Showing my ignorance here but curious, never the less.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      These drawings were done for a book, “Surgical Anatomy of the Face.” I went to medical school at the Medical College of Georgia and studied Gross Anatomy along with the medical students. We dissected cadavers and had to learn all of the names of the muscles, blood vessels, nerves, bones and organs. I went into surgery, made notes and then went back to my drawing table to do the medical illustrations. Photos can’t be used for teaching purposes because you can’t show anatomy under the skin or underneath organs. Also the anatomy is not as defined in real life as you can show in an illustration. These drawings have been used for teaching purposes all over the world. Thanks for following my blog and for asking. I’m sure you are not the only one who doesn’t know what a medical illustrator does. I certainly didn’t when I first heard of it! Hugs, Mikki

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Oh, I forgot to answer. Yes, these are my drawings. I did them in 1986! Mikki

Leave a Reply

