Another Painting for Bucks County

bench 3door and stone wall 3Jericho Mountain Orchards is a beautiful old farm in Bucks County that dates back to the 1680’s. I’m using elements from the two pictures above to make this new piece for Bucks County Gallery of Fine Art.

SD1813 Step 1

Here is my pen and ink sketch. I fell in love with the lantern and heart bench the moment I saw them.

SD1813 Step 2

I begin by sketching up the basic elements on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + a liberal amount of Liquin.

SD1813 Step 3

The areas where there will be glass on the door and window are washed in with the MUD + Liquin mixture. I don’t want the area to be completely opaque but rather it needs to retain some translucency. When the mullions of the windowpanes are painted over the dark area it will appear as if something is behind the glass.

SD1813 Step 4
My basic plan is sketched up on the canvas. Can you see the changes I made from the sketch? I took out some of the pots and made only one step. It just felt a bit too crowded. I want the viewer to have room to move around. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow, we’ll start painting. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

3 Responses to “Another Painting for Bucks County”

  1. Barbara Nuss Says:

    Great composition. I love what you have done with the references.

  2. claudias sorensen Says:

    I love your paintings. I am venturing into the oil world from acrylics and you make it look so easy but I know it’s not.

Leave a Reply

