Cascade of Wisteria

SE2113 Step 3

Since this gate enters into a courtyard a glimpse of the building in the background is shown. The structure remains in shadow, providing a dark mass so the Wisteria blossoms highlighted by the sunshine will glow. I begin blocking in the flowers with several mixes of Dioxazine Purple + White.

SE2113 Step 4

Some of the adobe wall has been painted so I can drag the blossoms down over it. Then I begin working the greens of the leaves around the purple to shape the flowers.

SE2113 Step 5

Using the corner of a #8 Bright brush individual petals are indicated. I especially like the square shape of Bright brushes. The flat side can be used to block in larger areas. Turn the brush and the corner is perfect for adding smaller details. If you would like to know more about the other brushes I use CLICK HERE.

SE2113 Step 6

The Wisteria is finished except for the blossoms hanging over the gate. I’ll come back and paint them when the gate is complete.

SE2113 Step 7

The gate is painted with a Turquoise made of Pthalo Blue + Viridian Green + White. After the light and shadow patterns are established the lines separating the boards are drawn with a fine liner brush. The same brush is used to add the details on the gate latch.

SE2113 Step 8

Hanging baskets filled with red Geraniums pop against the Turquoise door. Then I begin working on the fountain. Thank you for following along today. Have a wonderful evening and I hope you’ll visit our studio again soon. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “Cascade of Wisteria”

  1. Mary Duncan Says:

    lovely as usual Mikki !! I swish I could paint those fine lines such as the gate handle. I really struggle with things like that even with the tiny brushes.

  2. mjspringett Says:

    Lovely work, I really enjoy your painting process thanks MJ

  3. oil painting Says:

    The techniques which are given for the oil painting are very use full for every one . Specially for the new and fresh artist . I like it a lot. The color combination and the shadow effect was very nice .

  4. MN Says:

    I am learning so much from you. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

