Peaceful Melody

SE2113 Step 9

The light and shadow pattern is blocked in on the floor. The surface is made cooler, or bluer, toward the back which makes it recede.

SE2113 Step 10

While the paint is still wet I draw the lines separating the pavers with a fine liner brush dipped in a thin mix of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. This is done freehand, using the mahl stick would limit the movement of my hand and I couldn’t make the curved lines smooth.

SE2113 Step 12

The Iris Reticulata is painted opposite of my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last. The long, thin foliage would be difficult to paint around the lacy blossoms.

SE2113 Step 13

The brushstrokes making the delicate Butterfly Irises (Iris Reticulata) are gently laid on top of the wet paint underneath. I have to be careful not to pick up any of the underlying color, it would dirty the crisp, white blossoms. I return to my normal sequence for the Marguarite Daisies, blocking in the yellow mass for the flowers first.

SE2113 Step 14

After the Zinnias and foliage in the lower left corner are finished I realize the light colored fountain takes away from the White Irises. So I go back and darken the fountain so the dancing, butterfly-like flowers will stand out.

SE2113 Peaceful Melody 30x24Peaceful Melody     30″ x 24″      Original Oil Painting

The pleasant entry is ready for company.  The gentle splash of cascading water offers a Peaceful Melody for anyone walking up the curved path. It’s been fun making a painting using our garden flowers as models. Thank you for visiting our studio today, hope you’ll come again. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

Website: http://www.senkarik.com

8 Responses to “Peaceful Melody”

  1. Tracy Says:

    Peaceful Melody is lovely. Thank you for sharing your work and letting us see behind the curtain. I can feel the sun on the side of my face, smell the mixed fragrance on the air, accompanied by the lazy buzz of bees going about their labors.

    My mother is from Colombia and their is a dying industry of amazing artisans who paint doors, gates, walls, etc on clay tiles. I have one which I treasure. I think a clay would be a wonderful canvas for you too.

    All the best, and I eagerly look forward to visiting and revisiting all of your works.

    Tracy from Denver

  2. Tracy Says:

    Hello again,

    I actually just found tiles under your name on eBay ‘Senkarik Courtyard Floral Art Ceramic Accent Tiles’, though I think they are “screen printed on”. Hand painted would be so much more exquisite. While nice, these tiles would not do your talent justice.

    All the best,
    Tracy

  3. Peggy Blck Says:

    Love this!!!!!!!!
    Peggy Black

  4. Ann Montgomery Says:

    Thank you for sharing your life, art and knowledge to everyone.

  5. Musikfan Irmi Says:

    Thank you for sharing your life, art and knowledge to everyone.

  6. MN Says:

    Yes, It is not often one comes across a talented person who is so generous in sharing her learning. I chanced upon your videos and then your blogsite and it has been a neverending learning for me. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

