Change Up

SK10312 Hugged by the Rio Grande 24x30

We’re beginning another commission today. My collector saw Hugged by the Rio Grande at Wildernightingale Gallery in Taos and fell in love with the river.

Sketch Kellerman

Liz said, “I want the right side of the painting exactly as it is in Hugged. BUT…the left side needs some changes.” Collaborating with my clients and working together to come up with the perfect painting for them is so much fun. We discussed her favorite flowers and colors before finalizing our ideas. My sketch is shown above. If you’d like to see it larger just click on the picture.

SE2413 step 1

Liz thought the sketch was just right so now let’s start on the canvas. This painting is framed in my Senkarik Signature Frame. The white frame is protected with blue Painter’s tape. When the piece is finished I’ll pull off the tape, revealing the clean, pristine frame. If you’d like to know more about our framing CLICK HERE. I draw up the basic elements in an oil wash mixed of equal parts of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson.  Liquin is added to thin the mixture.

SE2413 step 2

The Chili Ristra is washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin.

SE2413 step 3

The initial plan of the piece is on the canvas and we’re ready to start painting. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow and watch. Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Leave a Reply

