Embellishing “The Glory Never Fades”

2013-7-18 Molly and Sissie 2

Sissie and Molly, our rescue kitties, are both supervising today. Although I think Sissie, on the chair, is more interested in watching the birds outside than me at the easel!

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  Step 1

Thought you’d like to see my easel setup. Our palette made of 1/4 inch glass on a white shelf board is placed on top of a culinary cart. The two shelves below are handy for keeping supplies close by. The toilet tissue is used for wiping my brush as I paint. The garbage bag is clipped to an aluminum walker which keeps it open and ready to throw the used tissue into. You can see my regular Oil Paints on the shelf. However, we use Alkyd Oil Paints for embellishing my giclees because they dry much faster than regular Oil Paint. The tubes of Alkyd Oil Paint are lined up on the palette. And what would I do without my Dallas Cowboys water cup? It’s almost football season, YIPPEE! If you’d like to see any of these pictures larger just click on the image.

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  Step 2

The unembellished giclee of The Glory Never Fades was shown in the previous picture. In the photo above I’ve glazed the blue of the sky with a thin oil wash of Ultramarine Blue + Liquin. You can see where I got some of the wash onto the white border at the top. Highlights are added on the old cedar fence, then I begin painting the barn.

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  Step 3

Sunshine illuminates the meadow in front of the barn. I go back in to highlight the cool green grass and wildflowers.

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  Step 4

The bluebonnets have been glazed with Cobalt Blue + Liquin. Then the white tops, or bonnets, are added to the flowers in the foreground.

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  Step 5

Glistening white highlights have been made on the water as it tumbles over the rocks. Next the Yellow Coreopsis are completely repainted.

LO The Glory Never Fades 3-145  24x30The Glory Never Fades   Limited Original Hand Embellished Giclee

The flowers in the right foreground are repainted and The Glory Never Fades is ready to ship to our new collector. Thank you for following along today. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs, Mikki Senkarik

4 Responses to “Embellishing “The Glory Never Fades””

  1. Patrice Kelly Says:

    This is Beautiful , always love seeing your Flowers , you are so blessed to be surrounded by such Beauty .

    Sent from my iPad

  2. mjspringett Says:

    Wonderful and inspiring, thanks Mikki, MJ

  3. Cathleen Battles Says:

    I like this painting.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Thanks Cathy,
      Have you seen the pieces that I painted around the sides? I have you to thank for pushing me “over the edge”! Everyone has really liked them so I’ll definitely be doing more for our galleries.
      Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

