Softening the Horizon

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 5

OK, let’s get started painting. I’ve got my sky colors mixed and ready to go. #1. Cobalt Blue + White. #2. Pthalo Blue + White. #3. A darker shade of Pthalo Blue + White. Less White is mixed in than in #2. #4. Ultramarine Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange + a little MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. #5. MUD + a bit of Cadmium Orange + White. #6. Mixture #5 + more White.

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 6

The blue of the sky is painted first. The upper portion is blocked in with mix #1, while mixture #3 is used closer to the horizon.

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 7

Using mixtures #4 and #5 I block in the shadows of the clouds. Then mix #6 is used to add the sun warmed highlights to them.

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 8

Hard edges come Forward, Soft edges go back. This simple rule plays a big part in giving the appearance of depth in a painting. Notice how soft the clouds are. I also want the distant horizon where the ocean meets the sky to be soft, or slightly fuzzy, so it will recede. The paint of the distant water makes a hard, or sharp, edge when it is first applied over the sky. So I make a zig-zag line along the entire length of the horizon. To see this better just click on the image.

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 9

Taking a clean brush I drag over the zig-zag. This blends the up and down strokes, softening the horizon line.

SH5813 Tuscan Red Step 10

As I work on the rest of the painting you will see the soft, unfocused edges fall into the distance. Thank you for following along today, hope we’ll see you again tomorrow. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “Softening the Horizon”

  1. Loretta Pfeiffer Says:

    Do you do watercolor.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Loretta,
      All of my blogs show my oil paintings. When I did Medical Illustration I used water color for the anatomy and surgical work. So to answer your question, Yes I can do watercolor. But now I work exclusively in oil with the exception of when we travel. On our trips I take a sketch pad and a small watercolor kit. They are fun to use for quick plein aire sketches. Thank you for following my blog. AND please feel free to ask any other questions you may have. Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

