Lake Como for Santa Fe

IMG_6297 small fileIMG_6293 small file Let’s go to Lake Como for the last of the larger paintings for our Collector Event. Jennifer Young, a dear artist friend of ours, shared her pictures of Lake Come with me to use for reference. I love this vista, what a great view to enjoy from a terrace in Bellagio.

SH7213 Sketch

I make a couple of quick sketches. The larger one is my initial idea. As I was drawing I wondered what the composition would look like with the table on the right so I did a smaller thumbnail. I like my first impression, the balance is better. I’ll go with the table on the left.

SH7213 Step 1

After establishing the horizon and perspective lines I start drawing up the arches and columns in a thin oil wash.

SH7213 Step 2

The table and chairs issue an invitation for the viewer to “Take Part” in the painting. Then the distant mountains surrounding the large lake in northern Italy are sketched in.

SH7213 Step 3

We’re all sketched up and ready to begin painting. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow and watch. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

3 Responses to “Lake Como for Santa Fe”

  1. Patrice Kelly Says:

    Beautiful !

  2. Mirjam Says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time and teaching us how to paint. Love your style, skill and generosity!!! 🙂

  3. Maria Elvira Toth Says:

    … molto bellisimo !

Leave a Reply

