An Island Chair

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 4

The Wisteria is blocked in following my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last. By painting the mass of flower color first it stays bright and clean. If I started with the leaves my brush would pick up some of the green when I was putting in the blossoms, making them dirty. I’ve used Dioxazine Purple + White for the Wisteria blooms. In the picture above I’m adding the foliage, working around the purple.

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 5

The individual petals are added with a lighter shade of the Dioxazine Purple mixture. I have to “Lay” the brushstrokes on top of the underlying paint, being careful to not pick up any of the green. You can click on the picture to see it larger.

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 6

My model for the Adirondack Chair is one of a pair we found when living on the Texas coast at North Padre Island. We were driving on the interstate at 70mph when I spotted them in front of a small shop located along the access road.  “JACK! Turn around. Go Back!!!!!!” I exclaimed. He almost had a heart attack because he had no idea what I was yelling about. By the time I’d explained about the chairs we were well past any exit to get back to the store. We had to go all the way across the bridge to the island to turn around and go back to the mainland. Fortunately we got there just before they closed and we became the proud owners of a pair of azure blue Adirondack chairs. They now happily reside on the front patio, a landmark for anyone coming to our studio.

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 7

Mixtures of Pthalo Blue + White are used for our Island Chair!

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 8

Next the light and shadow pattern on the terra cotta tile floor is established.

SI9013 Sit and Visit a While Step 9

The perspective and horizontal lines separating the individual tiles are now drawn into the wet paint. I use a fine liner brush dipped in a mixture of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Grab your gardening gloves, I’ll be planting tomorrow. Would love to have you come help.

AND…..If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

Leave a Reply

