A New Commission

SG4513 Old Friends 14x14

We’re beginning on a new commission today. Our collector saw Old Friends (shown above) in the catalog for our collector event. Tracy emailed and said, “The jewel colors in Old Friends are delicious. But I’d like one change. When I was in Taos I was deeply drawn to these super cool beaded animal heads. Could you include one instead of the boots?”

Sketch Wild

No problem! I did some searching on Google.com and found some of the beaded skulls for reference. Here’s my sketch for our collaboration.

SJ9413 Memories of Taos Step 1

I begin sketching up the design on a cradled panel. A brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin is used to draw the basic plan.

SJ9413 Memories of Taos Step 2

I’ve changed the horns, I wasn’t happy with the original sketch. We’re all ready to start painting. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow and watch. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

Leave a Reply

