Hill Country Barn

SJ9513 Texas Primaries Step 1

Today we’re working on a fun surprise, an old Texas hill country barn surrounded by an ocean of bluebonnets. The sketch on canvas is made in a thin oil wash of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin.

SJ9513 Texas Primaries Step 2

The sky is painted first, then moving forward the most distant mountain is blocked in. It is made bluer, or cooler, so it will fall into the background. Next the windmill is drawn into the wet paint of the sky. My wrist is braced on a mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the fine details. To find out more about our mahl stick CLICK HERE.

SJ9513 Texas Primaries Step 3

The barn color is a mix of Alizarin Crimson + a touch of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + some White. More White is added for the side of the barn touched by the sunlight. A few strokes of Ultramarine Blue + White are made at the back of the shadow side of the old building, This makes the far edge recede. You can see this better by enlarging the picture, just click on the image.

SJ9513 Texas Primaries Step 3A

The rusty tin roof is painted with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. The flat plane is blocked in with rough brushstrokes, helping to give the appearance of old, rusty tin. I let a shadow from the ancient live oak tree fall across the slanted surface. I quickly cover the hillside in front of the barn with a blanket of blue. Hmmmm, it makes a pretty nice little painting just like this. What do you think? However there is still a lot of white canvas below! Tomorrow I’ll show you how the large field of Bluebonnets is painted. Hope you’ll come back and watch. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

3 Responses to “Hill Country Barn”

  1. Christopher Newell Says:

    Welcome home to Texas. I thought you were stuck in Tuscany. LOL. Blue Bonnets and Mail Pouch. Auh~home. Hugs to Jack. C

  2. Ragi Says:

    Hi Mikki, can you please help me painting a windmill, I find it very difficult to draw and don’t know how many blades to paint, sometimes I saw 16 and sometimes there’s 24, I will appreciate if you can help me.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Ragi,
      I don’t worry about the number of blades because they vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. I usually put the windmill in the distance, that way I don’t have to worry about a lot of minute detail. I paint the blades into the wet sky beginning by making the entire blade area dark. Then I come back with the sky color and paint the light lines between the blades. That’s what I’m doing in this picture:

      Hope this helps. Mikki

Leave a Reply

