Struttin’ His Stuff

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 1

Roosters! Don’t you just love these cocky little fellows? And….I’m painting him larger for my eBay auction this week. This EMBRYO measures 10 inches by 10 inches.

CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 2

The colors for the background are laid out on my glass palette. #1. Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + a little White. #2. I took some of Mixture #1 and added more Cadmium Orange + a bit more White. #3. Mixture #1 with additional White. #4. Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + a bit of Pthalo Blue + White. #5. Mix #4 with more White. #6. Mixture #4 with even more White.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 3

I begin painting by blocking in the dark background behind the Rooster. The deep Blue-Green will accentuate the Red on his head. Working forward I start painting the grass in broad, thick brushstrokes. I keep the edge between the dark background and the lighter grass soft and feathery so it will recede.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 4

The tail feathers are painted with Blacks made of Phtalo Blue + Alizarin Crimson. I’ve saved my background color. In the picture above I’m going back in and delineating the lighter areas between the tail feathers. To see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 5

Now for his multicolored body. The paint is laid on with thick, textural strokes that give the impression of feathers.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff Step 6

The Reds on the Rooster’s head were previously washed in with Cadmium Red Deep + Magenta + Liquin. That is dry, so the dark areas are now painted opaquely with Cadmium Red Deep. Cadmium Red Medium is used for the lighter parts of the bright comb and wattles. Highlights are added with Cadmium Red Medium + a tiny touch of White.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff 10x10Struttin’ His Stuff      10″ x 10″    Original Oil Painting EMBRYO

There is a saying in Provence, “A Rooster in your home brings happiness to your life and success in the kitchen.” Let this feisty guy come Struttin’ His Stuff, right into your heart. CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

SK10813 Struttin' His Stuff 10x10 with tape

Remember, this happy Rooster measures 10″ x 10″. And don’t worry about framing him, the little gem has finished sides and is ready to hang on your wall. Christmas is just around the corner, Senkarik Original Embryos make unique gifts that are sure to please.

CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

The auction ends Sunday, November 10, at 8 PM Texas time!

HAVE FUN BIDDING,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

5 Responses to “Struttin’ His Stuff”

  1. Lynn Rattray Says:

    Mikki,

    I want to thank you for showing up in my life! I just discovered your art the other day and it keeps touching my heart, as it is clear that you paint with passion. This rooster was the sign I could no longer ignore…..I did a double take when I first saw it! I have painted 12 plus of the fellas, each with their own personality. I’m a passionate emerging artist with much to learn and am feeling the pull to try my hand at flowers/nature….. and that’s when you showed up! There are no accidents, so thanks so much for sharing your art, as well as your technique. It confirmed to me that it is time for me to try my hand at something new. Your work is amazingly beautiful and clearly heart felt! I wish you much joy and success as you continue to pour yourself into your work. Ahh….to create something as beautiful as you do…such a joy for us all!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Lynn,
      Thank you for your wonderful comments. I’m floating. Just go for it on the flowers and nature. If you ever have any questions feel free to ask. Please do me a favor, say you are a “Passionate Artist”. Take emerging out of your vocabulary, makes it sound like you are a bug. You’re AN ARTIST!
      You can do it! Hugs, Mikki

      • Lynn Rattray Says:

        Hi Mikki,
        I’m enjoying your posts and they are easing me into the floral world while my animals are resting. Since I’ve painted only animals for the last couple of years, they sometimes still beg to be painted. I, however, am running out of space for the big paintings.
        I’ve started with small still life…which I said I would never paint….I like things living in the garden better than cut for a vase. Anyway, it looks so very easy and is anything but, so I’m being challenged. I’m having fun with it and never have to worry about if the eye or nose looks right! And there’s actually a lot to be said for a cheery bouquet! You’re right, I am a passionate artist….just one who has a lot to learn at a very late age! The story of how my painting fell from the sky and landed in my lap as a gift is an inspiration and helps me keep going when it seems I have no clue what I”m doing.
        Thanks for your encouragement and for sharing so much technique and knowledge. It’s so helpful and my eyes feast on your work every time you post!
        Take care,
        Lynn

  2. Mary Duncan Says:

    I want to have a “beginning ” artist friend be able to enjoy your web site as I do . How do I get this to her ??? I have forgotten how I was lucky enough to find you !!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Mary,
      Just go to http://www.mikkisenkarik.wordpress.com. If your artist friend would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post they can subscribe to my blog. Just scroll to the upper right side of the page. There is a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!” It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

