Portrait of a Puppy

Dottie Head

Dottie is the sweetest little dachshund. Her parents have commissioned me to paint her portrait. I love the sun catching her face in this shot.

Dottie neck and chest

I’ll use this photo for her neck, collar and tags.

SK12013 Dottie Step 1

After lightly penciling in some basic landmarks I start an oil sketch with a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SK12013 Dottie Step 2

The shadow patterns are established with the same oil wash. If you’d like to see any of the pictures larger just click on the image.

SK12013 Dottie Step 3

The sketch is finished. It’s not a complete likeness at this point, I’ll make adjustments as I continue working.

SK12013 Dottie Step 4

The background is mixed from various combinations of Alizarin Crimson + Viridian Green + White + just a touch of Pthalo Blue.

SK12013 Dottie Step 5

The lighter area behind Dottie’s face is kept fairly dark in order to accentuate the facial highlights. Tomorrow we’ll start painting on her. Hope you’ll come follow along. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

3 Responses to “Portrait of a Puppy”

  1. Bill Gavin Says:

    Thanks for all your sharing! I am currently reading several of Jack’s books. What he says, makes a lot of sense. I’m beginning to see my fears and errors. Can’t wait until your next post.

    Bill Gavin

  2. AniK Says:

    Oooh! I love your animal paintings. I still remember a Boxer you painted.

  3. Patrice Kelly Says:

    Love it , how Sweet !

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

