Sun Washed Surf

SL12813 Step 1

Another Christmas commission. This one is a gift for a couple who live near the beach in California. Their father contacted us and asked if I had any ideas of what might be fun for them. Well…..I love painting the rocky coast of the Golden Bear State, let’s show that through an open door. My initial plan is sketched up on the canvas in an oil wash.

SL12813 Step 2

The sky is painted first. Then I work forward, blocking in the water and rugged coastline. I’m using La Jolla as my model, the azure water there is so beautiful. Oh, I almost forgot. If you’d like to see any of the pictures larger, just click on the image.

SL12813 Step 3

The scene through the doors is complete, I think the tall La Jolla palms are really cool. Climbing Roses tumble over the terrace wall. Then the dark building and Trumpet Vine act to frame the sunlit ocean.

SL12813 Step 4

And…what else but Red Doors? John has a piece with them and mentioned his boys love the vibrant color.

SL12813 Step 5

The light and shadow pattern on the floor is painted first. Then I come back and draw the perspective lines of the tile into the wet paint. This is done freehand with a fine liner brush. The vanishing point for the terrace is far, far to the right of the painting on the horizon line.

SL12813 Step 6

The horizontal lines separating the individual tiles are drawn next, then I highlight the edges touched by the sun. Marshall (John’s son) and Jamie were engaged this year on the 4th of July. So I’ve decided to work a tile into the planter wall with the date.

SL12813 Sun Washed Surf 10x10Sun Washed Surf    10″ x 10″   Original Oil Painting

Time for planting. White Daisies and Purple Salvia fill the planter and terra cotta containers. Listen closely. Can you hear the surf, washed by the sun, crashing in the distance? I’m ready to go sit on the terrace wall, dangle my feet over the edge and enjoy the ocean breeze. Thank you for following along today. Hope you’ll come back soon. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

5 Responses to “Sun Washed Surf”

  1. Penny Rollitt Says:

    Beautiful. I’m listening to the crashing waves right now. You must visit Barbados one day, that is if you haven’t already!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Penny,
      Barbados is one of our favorite islands. In fact we have a Barbados goat hide in our library. Our rescue kitty, Molly, loves to nap on it! I’m envious of you sitting there listening to the crashing waves, enjoy them for Jack and I. Hugs, Mikki

  2. thegentlemanandscholar Says:

    Mikki,

    We received the painting a few days ago and think that it is great! A perfect California accent to our Orange County home. We live in Laguna Niguel, just a little bit up the PCH from La Jolla, and you did an excellent job of capturing the rugged coastline that Jaime and I love so much. Thank you for this beautiful piece!

    ~Marshall Senkarik

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Thank you Marshall,
      Jack and I lived in Carlsbad at one time. We LOVE your area, it’s so fun to paint. You dad had a wonderful idea to include the ocean in your painting. I certainly wasn’t going to turn him down 🙂 Big hugs to you and Jaime from Texas, Mikki

  3. thegentlemanandscholar Says:

    Reblogged this on The Gentleman & Scholar and commented:
    I thought this post appropriate to share, as appreciation of art is definitely a gentlemanly quality. This painting is done by my Aunt, and was commissioned by my father as a Christmas gift. It is a wonderful piece and one that will be very fitting in our California home. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

