Hummingbird Angel

Angel Reference

We never expected the incredible response to the angel I did for a Christmas present last month. Many of you said, “PAINT MORE!” So here we go. I was talking with Jack and asked him who we know I could use for a model. He turned to me and pointed. Looking behind me I said, “Who????????”

“Yes, you! Go get the camera and we’ll take some pictures.”

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel Step 1

I’m using the face and right arm from the photo on the left. The left arm is from the picture on the right. I decided on a closer view to highlight the hummingbirds.

CLICK HERE to go directly to my eBay auction for the HUMMINGBIRD ANGEL.

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel Step 2

The background sky and clouds are painted first, then I begin working on the angel’s wings.

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel Step 3

The hair is painted with mixes in different proportions of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White. I pull out a special color, Terra Rosa, to use for the skin tones. A touch of Cadmium Red Light is added for the rosy cheeks. A Little MUD is mixed in for the shadows. The edge of the jaw is rounded with a bit of Cerulean Blue. To see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel Step 5

After painting the flowers it’s time to start on the Hummingbirds. These wonderful little birds are so delightful to watch and especially fun to paint.

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel 14x14

I believe all gardens have Angels. And this one is particularly special, she is a guardian of Hummingbirds. They happily congregate around her armful of fresh flowers. I just wonder what she and that gem-like little Ruby Throat are talking about, don’t you?

SA0114 Hummingbird Angel 14x14 with tape

Here’s your opportunity to bring the joy of Hummingbirds into your life with a larger EMBRYO than I normally list. Hummingbird Angel measures 14″ x 14″. And don’t worry about doing any framing, the sides of the gallery wrap canvas are finished, ready for you to hang on your wall. Perhaps a special someone in your life has a birthday coming up. Senkarik Original Paintings make unique gifts that are sure to please.

This size original oil painting retails in our galleries for $690 but to make it more fun we’ve started the bidding at 1 cent. That’s right, ONLY A PENNY! Don’t linger, the auction ends Sunday, January 12 at 8 PM Texas (Central) Time.

CLICK HERE to go directly to my eBay auction for the HUMMINGBIRD ANGEL.

HAPPY BIDDING,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

7 Responses to “Hummingbird Angel”

  1. Carol Landry Says:

    Gorgeous as usual.

  2. Penny Says:

    How beautiful. Your paintings are so inspiring. I’m also learning a lot that is helping me to improve with my painting.
    One day I will be the proud owner of one of your beautiful paintings. Good luck with the bidding.

  3. Rizwana A.Mundewadi Says:

    great, I love this, you are a gem of an artist! paint more and more angels, love the colors, angel Mikki!All the Best!

  4. Chris & Connie Newell Says:

    Mikki, Spot on Angel…Jack knew! Christopher

  5. PITZER'S FINE ARTS Says:

    Very cool!

    Rob Pitzer Pitzers Fine Arts P O Box 2850 Wimberley, Texas 78676 G: 512-722-6032 C: 512-983-1085 rob@pitzersart.com http://www.pitzersart.com Sola Gracia *(By Grace Alone)*

  6. Ray Dane Says:

    I’ve heard it said that beauty begets beauty. The beautiful artist’s pose has resulted a beautiful painting. More angels, please.

  7. sue furrow Says:

    Hi Mikki & Jack, Wishing you the very Best this new year. This comment is the only way I know of to tell you (can’t find an email add) that your gift before Christmas about selling on Ebay has been put to GOOD use. I’m doing exactly what was recommended and already I’ve sold 6 or more. I know I haven’t made any money but I feel confident your gift will make it happen this year.
    Thank you for your generosity, Sue Furrow

Leave a Reply

