Preparation for a Southwestern Pair

SD3914 Welcome to the Southwest Step 1

Today I’m starting on a pair of paintings based on photos my collector took in Taos, New Mexico. Travis wants his pieces painted on regular canvas to be framed traditionally. So….we have a little preparation work to do before I step up to the easel. A square is made on the back of all my canvases with KILZ paint. This keeps the Sharpie pen I use for labeling from bleeding though the front. Then I write the Title, my copyright info, our code number of authenticity and the personalization for the collector. Two screw eyes are placed in the stretcher bars as shown.

SD3914 Welcome to the Southwest Step 2

The canvas is turned over and placed on a piece of double ply cardboard that is large enough to leave about 3 inches exposed all the way around. Then the canvas is pressed down, the screw eyes dent the cardboard. The ice pick is used to enlarge the dents, making holes all the way through the cardboard. Notice the arrow penciled at the top of the canvas. This is done so the painting will be right side up to the labeling on the back. You may have to enlarge the image to see it better, just click on the picture.

 

SD3914 Welcome to the Southwest Step 3

The screw eyes protrude out the cardboard, nails are inserted to hold the canvas tightly against the backing. This will allow me to ship the paintings while they are still a bit tacky. I’ll show you how they are packed after the paintings are finished.

SD3914 Welcome to the Southwest Step 4

The cardboard holding the canvas is then placed on my easel. The backing will make handling the wet painting very easy. You can see my painting setup. The easel and taboret are on wheels, its very simple to adjust my work space to accommodate any size painting. That’s Sissie, one of our shelter rescue kitties, on the taboret! She’s supervising today. Have a wonderful evening. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

4 Responses to “Preparation for a Southwestern Pair”

  1. Tracy Says:

    Dear Mikki,

    I love how you show us all the steps and colors.

    Happy Easter, Tracy

  2. Rizwana A.Mundewadi Says:

    Thanks for this informative share Mikki, Great important one, love Sissie how she grabs the most important place, and your work space is so neat, no wonder you bring our wonderful artworks!
    Just wanted to say, so much of hard work and years of dedication, you are a gem of an artist!
    Take Care and God Bless! Luv the Hugs one big one from my side!
    Thank You!

  3. Barbara Yon Says:

    Hi Mikki
    Thanks you so much for showing how to do your canvas and studio set-up. I would like to copy if ok. So is that your pallet on the table under your easel? Is that a walker at the left of your easel? I have one of those too but not using now. Is it holding your trash bag? I am also interested in joining this group of painters so are you pleased with what you get through them?
    Thanks you so much for your help and God bless you,
    Barbara Yon

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Please feel free to copy my painting set-up. The table is a culinary cart. I put a 1/4 inch piece of glass on a white shelf board and placed it on top of the cart for my palette. Yes, that is a walker on the left of the easel. We use it as a holder for our trash bags. I’m not certain about the group of painters you’re referring to. I don’t belong to any painting groups.
      Thanks for following my blog. Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

