Wind Dancers on eBay

Jack and I have been busy the last few weeks, we’ve been MOVING! That’s why I haven’t been posting on my blog. This painting was done a while back, we both really liked the finished piece and added it to our personal collection. We have now downsized and don’t have quite as much display space for our paintings. So we decided to offer this special piece to our eBay collectors! I was once asked if I could be a flower what would it be? I’d definitely choose to be a sunflower. Determined to grow anywhere their cheerfulness brings a smile to all who see them. Combining several pictures of sunflowers from our garden a quick sketch is made to establish my painting plan.

CLICK HERE to go to the eBay auction.

The sunflowers are drawn up on my canvas and I’m ready to begin slapping paint. Along with the laptop to view reference material, I’ve printed out closeup photos of individual sunflowers to paint from.

I’m taking a little different approach on this piece. Instead of first working on the background I’ll begin with the foliage. The large sunflower leaves just cried out for my really BIG brush. As long as I use it sparingly it shouldn’t be too much strain on my arm. It is so fun to make the broad, juicy strokes using various mixtures of Ultramarine Blue + Hansa Lemon Yellow. I also throw in a few strokes of Pthalo Blue + White for variety.

On to the background using the same large brush to apply the color. I’m using several shades of purple which is the compliment to the yellow sunflowers. This piece seems to be painting itself, I’m just hanging on to the brush and letting the paint fly.

The buds of the Sunflowers add interest to the piece. Plus it’s fun to paint the various stages of the blooming process. I guess my Medical Illustration background is showing.

Rendering the flowers I use the biggest brush possible. Above I am using the broad side of the brush to paint the shadows of the yellow petals with a mixture of Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson). For the highlights I mix Cadmium Yellow Medium + Hansa Lemon Yellow. For the lightest yellows I add a little White to the previous mixture.

Here the corner of the brush is used to paint the center of the Sunflower. It’s amazing how much detail you can paint with the edge and corner of a large brush. Please remember, you can click on any of the pictures to see an enlargement.

Wind Dancers                24″ x 30″        Original Oil Painting

Because Sunflowers bob and dance so happily with the slightest breeze we decided to call these Wind Dancers. The auction ends Friday May 30 at 8PM Central Time. To go directly to the auction for Wind Dancers CLICK HERE.

Happy Bidding and Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

 

One Response to “Wind Dancers on eBay”

  1. Bob Ragland Says:

    Great to see your step by step process. I taught art on PBS in Denver . The shows were erased. Got paid to make them.
    You are special. Solid work. I have early magazines with your ad’s in them. Bravo! Well Done.

Leave a Reply

