A Fun Portrait

OBrien Mary Kay GA cropped

This is a neat commission. Our collector asked me to paint his Mother-in-Law as a angel for his wife’s anniversary gift! When Nancy’s mom was alive they always shared Guardian Angel stories, so he decided a portrait of Mary Kay as a GA would be perfect.

SE4314 Mary Kay G.A. Step 1

Here we go. The basic composition is sketched on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. At this point I’m not concerned with an exact likeness of Mary Kay, rather I just want to establish the planes and shadows of her face. To see this or any of the other images larger just click on the picture.

SE4314 Mary Kay G.A. Step 2

The sky is painted first. The upper portion is Cobalt Blue + White. Going lower down the blue sky becomes greener, influenced by the dust in the atmosphere. For this part I use a mix of Pthalo Blue + White. The shadows of the clouds are made with Mud + White.

SE4314 Mary Kay G.A. Step 3The lightest part of the clouds is White + a bit of Cadmium Orange + a tiny touch of Mud. The edges are kept soft and fluffy so the clouds will fall into the background. Next I move to the wings, painting them wet-into-wet over the sky. The flowers stalks are also drawn in at this time, I’ll come back and paint the flowers later.

SE4314 Mary Kay G.A. Step 4

The painting is signed while the sky is still wet, this makes it easier to pull the fines lines of my Signature. I’ve left the canvas around the birds, hands and hair unpainted, I’ll cover that part of the sky when I work on Mary Kay and the hummingbirds. That’s all for today, hope you’ll come back tomorrow and follow along.

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. If you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

Leave a Reply

