Serene Morning

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 1

Let’s extend our Texas spring for just a little bit longer with Bluebonnets and a stately old barn that’s a favorite of ours. I’ve used it as a model many times before. Every time I paint the ancient structure it comes out different! I begin the piece by sketching up the basic plan in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

 To go directly to my eBay auction CLICK HERE.

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 2

The sketch is complete. I label the flowers so I’ll remember what my original ideas were as I’m pushing paint around on the canvas. Sometimes I forget 🙂 Please remember, you can click on any of the images to view them larger.

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 3

The uppermost portion of the sky is blocked in first with Cobalt Blue + White. The hazy clouds in the dawn sky are then painted with mixes in different proportions of MUD + Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light. After the distant hills are finished the sun rising over them is indicated with White + Cadmium Yellow Medium + a touch of Cadmium Orange.

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 4

The trees, barn and windmill are painted over the wet sky. This allows me to keep the margins of the huge Live Oak Trees feathery and soft.

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 5

The entire mass of Bluebonnets is blocked in first. Mixes of Ultramarine Blue + MUD + White are used nearest the barn. Then mixtures in various proportions of Cobalt Blue + White make up the blue in the foreground. I come back to add the foliage and little White caps on the Bluebonnets.

SF4914 Serene Morning Step 6

The intense blooms of the Indian Paintbrush are made of Cadmium Red Light + Permanent Rose + White. I follow my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last.

SF4914 Serene Morning 10x10

I love the early morning. It’s so beautiful to watch the sunlight dancing across the landscape, waking up the world. And when Bluebonnets are in bloom the splendor of a Serene Morning is mesmerizing. I decided not to put in the White Thistles that were indicated on my initial sketch. I felt they would take away from the intensity of the sun peeking over the hills.

CLICK HERE to go to my eBay auction.

SF4914 Serene Morning 10x10 closeup

Just a closeup of that weathered old barn. It would make a nice painting just like this!

SF4914 Serene Morning 10x10 with tape

Serene Morning measures 10″ x 10″ and would retail in our galleries for $490. But to make it more fun we are starting the bidding on the auction at 1 cent. That’s right, ONLY A PENNY! But you’ll need to act quickly, the auction ends Wednesday, June 18 at 8 PM Central Time! And don’t worry about doing any framing, Serene Morning is painted on a panel with 1 1/2″ finished sides. You can take the EMBRYO out of the box and hang it directly on your wall. We even provide the hanger and nail!

CLICK HERE to go directly to my auction.

HAPPY BIDDING and HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

One Response to “Serene Morning”

  1. Bob Ragland Says:

    CHEERS!
    Your posts are very instructive. I was an art instructor on TV in Denver for a time. I know your work from Taos,NM.
    I enjoy Jacks data also.
    Sincerely ,
    Bob Ragland

Leave a Reply

