A Kitty Portrait

 

Albert4 small file

Monica and Myron contacted me to do a trio of three paintings. The first is a portrait of their precious Albert who is now in kitty heaven. They sent several images, I particularly liked this closeup of his face.

SI8014 Albert step 1

I begin by sketching him with a 2B pencil on my canvas that has been primed with 2 coats of white acrylic. I prefer to work on a surface that is slicker than what you get with gesso. If you would like to see this or any of the other images enlarged just click on the picture.

SI8014 Albert step 2

Now I block the drawing in with a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + LIQUIN.

SI8014 Albert step 3

Bracing my wrist on a mahl stick helps to steady my hand as I delineate the details on his face. What is a mahl stick? CLICK HERE to find out.

SI8014 Albert step 4

Adding the dark points on his face make the sketch begin to come alive.

SI8014 Albert step 5

The basic values and planes are now established. This is not a perfect likeness, it’s not meant to be. We’re just blocked in and ready to paint. Come back soon, I’ll be applying color in the next session. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

Leave a Reply

